Topic Title: [HD3800 Series] Horrible performance under Windows 8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/24/2012 11:17 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/24/2012 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MVinhas
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/24/2012

Hi,

I have an AMD HD3850 AGP from Sapphire. The card runs well most games under Vista/7, but in Windows 8 i noticed a loss of about 20~30% on gaming performance, which is not normal. Will AMD release at least one driver for HD3000/4000 series? I mean, cards like HD3870 and HD4870 are still powerfull, so makes sense release at least one driver for this OS.

My specs:

Conroe Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz @ 2.77GHz

4GB RAM DDRII (although my MB only sees 3,25GB)

Sapphire HD3850 AGP

SSD Drive

Windows 8 Enterprise x86 [edited, typed the wrong version]

 

Much aprecciated,

Micael Vinhas



Edited: 08/24/2012 at 09:09 PM by MVinhas
 08/24/2012 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

It's an AGP card and those were made obsolete an absolute AEON ago .. You'd have to discuss that with Sapphire as they continued to make AGP cards after ATI dropped all production and support for them. If AMD do happen to make a driver for it, then you'll just have to wait for a suitable one.



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 08/24/2012 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7298
Joined: 11/13/2009

The problem is the agp card. Also, read this http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2012/05/recommended-system-requirements-for-windows-8/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/24/2012 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MVinhas
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/24/2012

But AMD are still making Catalyst drivers with AGP hotfix for cards like HD3850 and HD4670 (but for WinXP/Vista/7)...the latest are 12.6 i guess...if they at least release one driver for Win8 that works on HD3000/4000 series PCIe, i have no doubt that Sapphire will release an AGP Hotfix for those drivers. Otherwise i have to revert to Win7.

 08/24/2012 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12728
Joined: 04/17/2008

You have no doubt that Sapphire will waste their time releasing AGP drivers for Windows 8 when even their PCIe counterparts are not supported under Windows 8 (HD 2000-HD 4000 series cards are WDDM 1.1, HD 5000 series and above are WDDM 1.2)? I think Sapphire would rather tell you to spend money on modern, supported hardware.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/24/2012 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MVinhas
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/24/2012

There is still a large comunity of people with a HD3000/HD4000 out there. The AGP Hotfix is not a problem for me, the truth is i can install a Catalyst driver with no Hotfix and still getting my card working. My problem is the lack os support for Windows 8 for this graphics cards series...I know you dont care about nvidia, but for eg. they have drivers for boards like 8800GTX in their site (and 8800GTX is WDDM1.1)...so...

Spend money? lol I'm Portuguese

 08/24/2012 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12728
Joined: 04/17/2008

Except that every AGP card after the X1950 is unofficial. I don't know what "lol I'm Portuguese" is supposed to mean, but if you can afford Windows 8 then you can afford good quality used supported PCIe hardware.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/24/2012 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MVinhas
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/24/2012

Sense of humor=0  It was just a joke.

I don't know if any current PCIe card works on a PCIe1.0 slot, and i can't spend more than 75€ on a board right know... (for that price i cant get HD6670, but this board is better than HD3850?).

If i have Windows 8, of course i wouldn't pay for it...i'm talking about the Win8 Enterprise with 90-day evaluation.

 08/24/2012 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12728
Joined: 04/17/2008

PCIe is backwards compatible, but with PCIe 1.0 x16 = PCIe 2.0 x8, take your pick, HD 5770, HD 6770, HD 6870, HD 7770, all would fit inside that bandwidth.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/24/2012 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MVinhas
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/24/2012

Thanks for the reply, but i think i have to switch everything on my PC if i wanna buy a new graphics card. My MoBo is an Asrock 4CoreDual-SATA2. The PCIe lane is 4x, not 16x...so i think that an HD5000/6000 would not work here.



Edited: 08/25/2012 at 03:37 AM by MVinhas
Statistics
86653 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.