Topic Title: AMD radeon HD 7750 system-freeze / lock-up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/08/2012 09:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/08/2012 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

Hello everyone,

A few days ago I bought the Radeon HD 7750.
Previously I had the Nvidia GeForce GT 230M installed.
I switched cards because the gt230 overheated way too fast.
(I've had 2 gt230's and they both overheated before a year passed)

Now the HD 7750 was reasonably priced and within my computers capabilities so I bought it.

I have a 460w psu and the card requires 400w+ so that should be fine. It's a pcie 3.0 card but it also works on pcie 2.0.

So far so good, I removed my old gpu in the device manager, uninstalled all the software, replaced the gt230 with the hd 7750 , succesfully booted my pc and installed the latest drivers from catalyst control center. My card is also correctly detected under device manager.

My games received a huge performance boost. Guild Wars 2 runs at high settings and the resolution set to 
1920x1080, with a nice fps of +/- 55.
While my old gt230 was only able to get 15-20fps on low settings with a much lower resolution. In general, all the games I play are able to run under way higher settings then before.

Now the problem is that during the gaming my screen goes black, the mouse and keyboard become unresponsive and the only way to escape from this is to hold down the pc's power button. ( this also happened when my old gt230 reached 105° )

The thing is though, that my new card is running at 50-70° and I'm postive that it is not overheating. Nor is my cpu.. I used core-temp and the temps were at 35-40°.

Now when my pc freezes and I reboot I can usually continue but this is not always the case. Sometimes my pc tries to start and I can see it lose power and just turn on again after which it boots. Another time I had a beeping noise. It turned out to be a code; 2 short 1 long. On the website of my pc manufacturer they say it means this ;

2 short beeps and 1 long beep (repeats 5 times) Unable to initialize video or video card required but not installed

 Now this problem occurs randomly. Sometimes I can game for 2 hours without a problem. Sometimes it occurs after 10 minutes.

I have done a few things to try and stop this problem for occuring:
Updated all my drivers ( they are always up-2-date but just saying )

I disabled that my monitor can go into sleep mode.
I made a registry tweak that I found on this forum.
I did a mem86+ test ( no errors )
I even run furmark (15 mins ) and it didn't crash. 

Any help would be appreciated! 

Ps;
Personally, I think it's because my psu is too weak. But then again, if my psu were too weak, wouldn't my pc shutdown completely instead of just lock up? I mean I can still hear background music from my game, skype or itunes or whatever is playing.. So that makes me doubt wether it's the psu.

But the symptons are 'identical' to the symptons I had when my old gt230 overheated.. except for that beep code I 'sometimes' get. Only had it twice so far.

 

gpu-z : http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/5420/gpuzidle.png

cpu-z: http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/8274/extrau.png

furmark1: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6030/furmark1.png

furmark2: http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/2927/furmark2.png



Edited: 09/08/2012 at 10:03 PM by 5u1c1d3
 09/10/2012 10:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

what 460W PSU is it? There are a ton of them out there that are actually sub 250W PSU's and say the rest of the power is on the 3v and 5v rails (which basically allows them to claim its rated alot higher then it is) Quality manufacters don't do that. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 09/10/2012 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

this is my psu: http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/8494/psui.jpg

thanks for the reply btw, I was beginning to feel a bit desperate..
I'm going to downgrade to cataclyst v 12.3 (I've read that the problems might stop after I downgrade them.. currently using 12.8 )

One final question, can you tell me if it's normal for my screen to go black and keyboard / mouse to stop responding while I'm still able to hear the ingame music or Itunes or skype conversation, because of a faulty/too weak psu? 

 09/10/2012 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

Your card's TDP is about 60W ( 5A ) ..

Your PSU outputs 431W TOTAL COMBINED and from the specs I'd say it outputs about 300W MAX @ 12v .. and the 12v output is set up very unevenly over those 3 ( ! ) 12v rails. So no, it might not be fine at all .. it's a basic DELTA unit made for DELL/HP etc and isn't the greatest of quality at all.

Without a good PSU to test with ( to eliminate the issue being power related ) then troubleshooting is pretty much a futile exercise.

If there was an nVidia card in the system beforehand, then you need to be testing on a virgin install of Windows ( to eliminate previous driver files, .inf files, registry entries etc as the cause of the problem ).

If the HD7750 was a card you installed into a HP or 3rd party built rig, then you'd have to check with the manufacturer of the system to ensure compatibility between that card and their mainboard - as most 3rd party built systems use proprietary VBIOSes, mainboard BIOSes, drivers etc etc ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/10/2012 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

Ok I'll do a clean install tomorrow, and if that doesn't work i'll upgrade the psu and report back here.

What's the minimum wat and voltage on the rails I should be aiming for?
500w+ enough? or should I go for 600w+? 

 

 09/12/2012 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

Hi guys, it's me again.

Just wanted to inform you guys that the problem has been solved without formatting my system or upgrading my *****psu and other tricks.

all I did to fix it was uninstall my ati drivers and use the ones that came on the dvd with the graphics card. the catalyst version is 12.4 ( on cd )
everything is working correctly now. It's been almost 3 days without a single crash. 

So what have we learned! Do not update your amd drivers ;D 

 09/12/2012 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rumraket
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/03/2012

What catalyst version were you using when you had the problem?

 09/12/2012 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

The latest ones. (12.8 I believe ) When I installed my graphics card I ignored the dvd that came with it and just went online to get the latest version. ( no use in installing the one from the cd if I had to download the new ones anyway I thought )

 09/12/2012 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

and so far still no crashes

 09/20/2012 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

11 days further now and again the crashes are starting to occur.

I haven't had a single system freeze up untill now. But today I've got 2 system freezes again.. I was playing a game and then I got a black screen .. can still hear the music play but I had to do a manual reboot because the mouse / keyboard became unresponsive. 

This means that the drivers 12.4 ( still using them ) were not the cause of my issue after all. Was / is it my psu ? I doubt it my game ran smooth for 11 days straith.. that's not a psu issue ^^ so please start fixing this.. 

 09/20/2012 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7169
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: 5u1c1d3 Hi guys, it's me again. Just wanted to inform you guys that the problem has been solved without formatting my system or upgrading my *****psu and other tricks. all I did to fix it was uninstall my ati drivers and use the ones that came on the dvd with the graphics card. the catalyst version is 12.4 ( on cd ) everything is working correctly now. It's been almost 3 days without a single crash.  So what have we learned! Do not update your amd drivers ;D 

I believe the last time you asked.....power supply.

-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 09/20/2012 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

I believe last time I asked the problem was occuring on a daily basis. And exactly after downgrading my drivers to 12.4 the problems stopped for 11 days straith.

So don't whimp me off by telling it's my psu.
My psu is identical to my friend's psu and she is running a gtx550ti which requires a lot more power then my current card and her pc is not crashing with every ***** game she plays.

So if you would be so kind how is it possible that my PSU didn't fail for 11 days straith after 4 days of constant crashes ( up to 10 times / day ) the crashes stopped after downgrading to 12.4 . Now crashes are back and I didn't update my drivers. Riddle me that. 

 09/20/2012 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

OK, firstly - this is a peer to peer based forum, where people such as yourself get FREE help from people KIND ENOUGH TO OFFER THEIR TIME so that people like yourself DO NOT HAVE TO PAY A TECH to fix their mess. OK, that straight enough for you ? Please be civil or you'll find people ignoring your threads / posts and cries for help.

As I mentioned in my first post to you, it is IMPOSSIBLE to troubleshoot a PC with a crap PSU - simple. I test, build and configure PC systems for clients all day at work and the FIRST thing a PC needs, is a PROPER PSU rated to run it and also known to work with NO issues.

Maybe the PSU has saturated CAPs and fails after a while due to that. Maybe it's having trouble powering everything due to it's crappy rail ratings and whatever you're doing sometimes pushes it over the edge etc etc etc and the list can go on and on and on in regards to that. THAT's how it's possible that it held up for a few days before failing again. You will not get to the root cause of things without testing the system with a better PSU than that, so as to eliminate ALL possibilities that it's your crappy DELL POS.

If things worked fine for days / weeks / months before on older drivers and now they figure in the crashes, then you either have a very shoddy Windows / Driver install or a hardware component is failing. Simple, no need for Einstein to help you solve that puzzle, it ain't no riddle.

Easy thing to do - borrow a PSU which isn't a total POS, install that and then do a fresh install of the o/s with the older drivers .. if that holds up, then install the newer driver set ( avoid 12.8 as they seem to be troublesome for lots of people ). If that holds up yet again, then swap out the good borrowed PSU for your heap of crap and test again. If it falls over after a while, then you know where you stand.

There is of course, the other thing I mentioned about the compatibility thing going on between the mainboard and VGA card, but you seem to have ignored that in your haste to call people out over things.



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/20/2012 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

It's also possible that you're both right.  These aren't simple systems we're dealing with here, and it's not at all uncommon for there to be more than one root cause when things go wrong.

Personally, I would go back to the stress tests.  If the problem is the power supply, then that should show up fairly quickly when the system is under enough load.  A bad PSU will cause voltages to waver from what they should be, or the system will just scream and die altogether.  It's not just about providing enough power either, but providing steady, clean power as well.  The output of a good PSU will remain consistent no matter how hard someone tries to make it cry, while a bad one can fluctuate all over the place.

If it's some almost-random hardware or software problem, then just keep testing.  In order to be conclusive you've often got to test for much longer than 15 minutes.  Recently I cooked a motherboard(don't ask... ), and in order to confirm that the CPU and memory were undamaged, I ran Prime95 for 19 hours, followed by memtest86 for 24 hours.  No problems in either, so I figured I was in the clear.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 09/20/2012 at 06:41 PM by Mime
 09/20/2012 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

Originally posted by: Mime

Recently I cooked a motherboard .. ..

 

French cuisine, Cajun style, Indian spicy or local recipe ? Must've been hell choosing a wine to go with that !!! Hahaha ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/20/2012 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

The funny part was I actually did cook it.  Having to use your sense of smell while troubleshooting never leads to a good outcome. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 09/26/2012 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5u1c1d3
n00b

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/08/2012

problem solved. thermal paste was dryed up. bye all and thanks for the help.

Statistics
84670 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.