Topic Title: HD7870 crashes
Topic Summary: Very frequent blackscreens with radeon hd 7870
Created On: 09/09/2012 06:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/09/2012 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoid0
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/09/2012

 


Graphics Card
2048MB Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 OC Aktiv PCIe 3.0 x16

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.8, previously 12.3 

Operating System
- 64-bit windows 7; Service Pack 1, 

Issue Details
-Unpredicatable black screens during games, somtimes 4-5 times per day, sometimes i can go for an entire day without a single one.

Only way to resolve this, is a powering down (reset won't even work)

Applications and Games
So far with everything i've tried including leauge of legends, darksiders 2 and civilization 5

CPU Details
Intel i5 3570- Quad-Core Processor 3.4 GHz 6 MB Cache

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
IIyama Pro Lite B4203WS

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Asrock H77 Pro 4 MVP,

Motherboard BIOS Version
 bios 1.30 after update

System Memory Type & Amount
-2*4gb G-skill DD3 1600

Power Supply
480 W be quiet! Straight Power E 9 CM  modular 

Additional Hardware
- samsung 830 ssd 256 gb, 3 case fans, 

Additional Details
no overheating problem, cpu and and gpu temp don't cross 50°

Please help me, i have read countless posts elsewhere, experiencing the same problems,

i am very disappointed and hope for a near future resolution of this annoying problem

 



Edited: 09/09/2012 at 01:38 PM by Zoid0
 09/09/2012 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7461
Joined: 11/13/2009

The 7870 card requires a 500 watt ps minimum.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 09/09/2012 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoid0
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/09/2012

thanks for the quick reply, though i don't think this solves the problem,

i've read many report abut that error occuring with stronger psus including this one on the same forum

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160918&highlight_key=y&keyword1=hd7870 

 09/09/2012 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7461
Joined: 11/13/2009

ok



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *



Edited: 09/09/2012 at 06:39 PM by stumped
 09/10/2012 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bphillips79
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2012

I'm having the same problem with my Gigabyte HD 7850.  I upgraded my PSU to 750 80+ silver and still have the problem.  I can't seem to figure out why it's doing this.



-------------------------
Statistics
87568 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 11 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.