Topic Title: stuttering graphics
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/20/2012 05:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/20/2012 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

i have recently upgraded my A3870 apu to dual graphics with a asus hd6670 1gb card,since upgrading all my games graphics are stuttering,even when i scroll in game,picture quality is great but it just seems to be slower.all drivers have been updated and i have catalyst 12.8.i didn't have this problem before upgrading.i have tried running 3dmark11 and i get this error 3DMark 11 has found DirectX 11 system files, but your graphics adapter reports that it supports only Direct X 9_3.

3DMark 11 requires both DirectX 11 system files and DirectX 11 capable hardware to run. If you are certain that you have DirectX 11 hardware present, there may be a problem with your video drivers. See 3DMark 11 FAQ for more information.please help as my graphics knowledge is not very good.thanks.

A3870 apu.8gb corsair ram.500gb hdd.580w psu.gig A75-D3H mobo.windows 7 64bit.



-------------------------
 09/20/2012 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

Please read the first STICKY thread and provide as much detail as possible. It will aid others to start helping you out if they have more relevant info to work with ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/21/2012 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

Thanks but already done so but still no help



-------------------------
 09/23/2012 03:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 539
Joined: 01/15/2011

Hmmm...make sure you didn't uninstall the AMD drivers for your motherboard.

I have a APU system as well...A6-3670K, Gigabyte GA-A75-D3H, 8GB Corsair Vengeance RAM, Windows 7 x64...

Ever once in a while, when I uninstall the old drivers, I will accidentally uninstall the drivers for the motherboard as well. The Mobo drivers shows up in the list of things when uninstalling the graphics drivers...for some reason.

Also, make sure you have downloaded an installed the latest CAP profiles as well. They should be on the same page as where the graphics card drivers are located.

What version BIOS are you using for your GA-A75-D3H?

Is your version of Windows up-to-date?

 



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64



Edited: 09/24/2012 at 02:15 PM by AMD Support and Game Moderator
 09/23/2012 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

THANKYOU so much for your help rascal.my bios is v6.00pg.

windows is up to date via autoupdate.i have downloaded cap 12.8.

my graphics were great before upgrading but i thought i would go better with dual graphics,the quality is better but the problem is when i play games,e.g graphics sticking especially when i move around a game.i dont fully understand how to set up the catalyst profiles and other settings.Is there somewhere in windows that tells you dual graphics is enabled apart from the catalyst,sorry if i seem a bit of an idiot but any help is greatly apreciated.thanks again.



-------------------------
 09/23/2012 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 539
Joined: 01/15/2011

Originally posted by: bobbtb THANKYOU so much for your help rascal.my bios is v6.00pg.

windows is up to date via autoupdate.i have downloaded cap 12.8.

my graphics were great before upgrading but i thought i would go better with dual graphics,the quality is better but the problem is when i play games,e.g graphics sticking especially when i move around a game.i dont fully understand how to set up the catalyst profiles and other settings.Is there somewhere in windows that tells you dual graphics is enabled apart from the catalyst,sorry if i seem a bit of an idiot but any help is greatly apreciated.thanks again.

Wait what?

BIOS v6.00pg??

Looking at Gigabyte's website and webpage for the GA-A75-D3H, there is no BIOS with number v6.00pg. They are named with a letter and a number (example F3 or F2).

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3929#bios

Is your system a pre-built? (DELL, HP, Gateway, Acer, etc) A lot of pre-built systems use v6.00pg or similar for their BIOS.

From what I know, the only way to know if Dual Graphics is enabled is by looking in the Catalyst Control Center, and a "watermark" on some select games / programs (?). I'm not 110% sure; I hope someone can verify this.

 

The CAP profiles is a seperate file that you can download from AMD's website. It works in conjunction with the drivers. You don't have to make / create any "profiles."



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 09/24/2012 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

sorry about that rascal,it is version f4.my pc was put together by myself.could you tell me how to find out if my motherboard graphics drivers are installed properly and if not how i reinstall them,i have tried reinstalling the graphics drivers off the m/b disc but this is just the original catallyst.MASSIVE THANKS AGAIN. 



-------------------------
 09/25/2012 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

i am getting the impression my problem is the catalyst 12.8.which cat would be the best option and will it just replace the 12.8.can i also say that i it still stutters with dual graphics disabled.but its fine if i disable one of the cards,can anyone please help



-------------------------
 09/25/2012 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161087&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 09/27/2012 05:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

i have run 3d mark and it tells me my graphics card does not support directx 10.3d mark 11 tells me my card is not compatable with direct x 11(top of page)i can only think my drivers are the problem but i have updated everything.CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE HELP.  



-------------------------
 09/27/2012 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

i ran pcwizard and it shows directx11 is installed but my card is not supported by dx11,any ideas PLEASE anybody



-------------------------
 09/27/2012 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

sorry i don't own your type of set up but i would think it may be driver related.

if it were me i would unistall 12.8 with the option to remove all , it should ask you if you want to delete the folder ,.say yes. then install another version like 12.5. a lot of people use something like drive sweeper to clean out all the left over bits before installing a new driver but i have never done so.

i would think that would help, best of luck.



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 09/28/2012 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

thank you i'll try that. getting pretty desperate



-------------------------
 09/28/2012 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbtb
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/12/2012

MASSIVE THANKS to everyone for their comments,i sorted it at last,it was my catalyst 12.8.i uninstalled and installed older catalysts and found catalyst 12.3 and cap 1 do not have this problem.My problem now is i cant update it,but thats for another day.THANKS AGAIN.



-------------------------
Statistics
85472 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.