Topic Title: AMD ZeroCore
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2012 08:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/25/2012 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

Graphics Card
MSI HD7850 1GB GDDR5 OC Edition

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.10 Fresh Install

Operating System
Windows 7 X64 SP1 Fresh install

Issue Details
ZeroCore isn't working properly.

Sometimes the graphics card awakes every 2-3 seconds. As a result the GPU turns on the fan, and because it's just for half a second, I can hear the fan startspinning every 2 seconds.


Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUS P8B75M_LX

Power Supply

XFX 650W Pro Series

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
LG Flatron L1715S

Applications and Games

I don't know

CPU Details
Intel I5 3450 3.1Ghz

Motherboard BIOS Version
I don't know

System Memory Type & Amount
Kingston 4GB DDR3 1600 Mhz

Additional Hardware


Additional Details
I can reproduce the problem:

Open the AMD OverDrive page on Catalyst.

Configure your windows to turn off the screen after 1 minute

And see the fan turning on and off all the time...

 10/25/2012 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Thank you for reading and using our template.  One question, please define what you mean when you state:

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.10 Fresh Install

Do you mean that you unistalled the previous version of CCC before installing 12.10 (with/without running Driver Fusion) or do you mean that you installed the OS then CCC 12.10?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/25/2012 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

I installed a fresh windows install and drivers.

 10/27/2012 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

Can you please install MSi Afterburner to see the graphs about fan percentage & clocks?

 

Keep Afterburner minimized .

 10/27/2012 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

I am having the exact same problem.  Don't know what I can do.  Please someone help.

 

 10/27/2012 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

Graphics Card:

AMD Radeon HD 7770

AMD Catalyst:

12.8 previously 12.6

Operating System:

64-bit Service Pack 1 Windows 7

Issue details:

When the monitor turns off the fan will repeatedly turn off then on again and make a knocking noise every time the fan turns on againg.

System make and model:

Dell XPS 8500

Power Supply:

460 watts

Display Device:

Samsung Syncmaster LCD, DVI

Cpu Details:

Inter Core i7 3770

Motherboard BIOS Version:

Dell AO9

System Memory:

12 Gigs

Additional hardware:

2 TB 7,200 rpm hard drive, 32 GB SSD, 1 case fan, Dvd drive

Additonal Details:

Brand new factory built computer. no Viruses or Spyware (Mcaffe) Did a Dell diagnostic and everything checked out. i can reproduce the problem by setting my computer to turn off the dispaly after 1 min. Shortly after the fan will turn off then on repeatedly until I wake the monitor. Turning the power off on my monitor with the power button will result in the fan not turning off and keep running. It is the only work around I have found.

 10/27/2012 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

I installed MSI afterburner.  I used control panel to turn off the monitor after 1 minute and this time the fan never turned off.  I left the monitor on and kept the screen saver going for an hour and the fan never turned off.  Does anyone know how AMD ZeroCore works?

 10/28/2012 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

Originally posted by: Pan333 I installed MSI afterburner.  I used control panel to turn off the monitor after 1 minute and this time the fan never turned off.  I left the monitor on and kept the screen saver going for an hour and the fan never turned off.  Does anyone know how AMD ZeroCore works?

 

 

And you closed all the programs?

 10/28/2012 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

I had no open programs and I left afterburner minimized.  I checked the fan by opening the case and looking at it with a mirror.

 10/28/2012 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

Strange thing :S Mine is crazy turning on and off the fan and dropping the clocks to 0 ...

 10/29/2012 01:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6103
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Pan333 I installed MSI afterburner.  I used control panel to turn off the monitor after 1 minute and this time the fan never turned off.  I left the monitor on and kept the screen saver going for an hour and the fan never turned off.  Does anyone know how AMD ZeroCore works?

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5261/amd-radeon-hd-7970-review/11



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/30/2012 01:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

Should turing your monitor off with its power button stop ZeroCore from comming on?  I am trying to figure out a way to stop it since it either doesn't work at all or comes on and off again.



Edited: 10/30/2012 at 02:31 PM by Pan333
 10/30/2012 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

You'd probably be better off using something like GPU-Z to keep track of ZeroCore.  Watching the fan to see if it turns on or off might not be the most reliable way to go about it.  There are multiple power states that ZeroCore can use, and not all of them will allow the fan to stop spinning entirely.

Of course... that's hard to do when the monitor is asleep.    I'm not sure though if ZeroCore controls fan speed directly, or just drops clock speed and voltage low enough that any reasonable PWM circuit will respond accordingly.  If it doesn't control fan speed directly, then an unreasonable PWM circuit could be your problem. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 10/30/2012 at 03:23 PM by Mime
 10/31/2012 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

I called AMD and told him about my problem.  He assured me they know about the ZeroCore problem and have been looking into it.  The first thing he said to try is installing the 12.11 beta drivers.  If the problem is still occuring then he wanted me to run msconfig and choose Selective Startup, unchecking both the Load Services and Load Startup options.  If ZeroCore works then it means that either a Startup Service or Startup Application is causing ZeroCore to fail.  He gave me a workaround, just turn off the monitor-sleep function, since that is the functionality that turns ZeroCore on.  If that's disabled ZeroCore doesn't turn on, so it will just run at 20% until the whole system goes into hibernate mode.  It have been doing that and just turning off the monitor with the power button since he said that ZeroCore is activated when the monitor is told to go to sleep by the O.S.

 10/31/2012 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

Can you give me the email, please?

 

This video shows my problem:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=YIdydI715VE

 10/31/2012 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pan333
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/27/2012

What I said in my previous post describes what we talked about on the phone aswell as email.  I did not see a problem like mine in the video you linked.  I suggest you give them a call and let them know your problem personally.  He said that for as long as he has been working there they have been trying to fix the ZeroCore problems and that the 12.11 drivers were not a band-aid-fix for the drivers.  He told me that for a company that advertises ZeroCore as feature it should work right.  He wanted me to work with him via email as far as troubleshooting goes.  It may be more helpful to them if you do the same.

 11/01/2012 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

I do not believe there is anything I could add to what was likely discussed in your phone conversation with one of AMD's technical support agents.

I would encourage you, and anyone else that experiences issues with our ZeroCore technology, to use the Issue Reporting Form found here, www.amd.com/report

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this do*****ent is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/01/2012 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Di0g0
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/25/2012

But where I can find the number? There is no support for my country... Portugal.

 11/01/2012 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6103
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Di0g0 But where I can find the number? There is no support for my country... Portugal.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161716&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
81036 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.