Topic Title: Dual Radeon HD 6970 + Geforce GT 610 - would this setup work?
Topic Summary: I want PhysX
Created On: 10/26/2012 08:31 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/26/2012 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daniellange
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/21/2010

So, I've read the 2010 article on this from Tomshardware.
And it got me thinking that it would be possible to gain performance and eye-candy in PhysX supported titles.

I'm a happy AMD owner of two 6970s in a crossfire setup, and want to expand my gaming future by trying to get PhysX to work.
Of course it works in some degree with those powerful cards (Metro 2033 is actually quite playable when physX is enabled), but I would like to be able to use the 6970's graphical capabilities along with nVidia PhysX for eye-candy.

The article goes that if you install nVidia drivers, it should work...
Simple as that, and you should be able to get positiv performance with nVidia driven PhysX, versus CPU-driven PhysX.

And of course, the more powerful nVidia card you have, the more would you actually benefith with this kind of solution.
But I'm planing on getting the entry level GT 610 PCI version.
It's not like I've vasted a lot of money if I choose to buy it anyway. 

So, am I an complete idiot thinking that this would work or would it actually be possible?

 10/26/2012 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

You won't get it to work in any modern game either, since nVidia has since moved to a new PhysX SDK and doesn't work with the older cards which support this (such as the GeForce 9800 derived cards). It's also not worth it, since most games are moving to cross platform PhysX such as DirectCompute, Havok, and OpenCL.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/26/2012 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Its possible, but you can't use any nvidia drivers, you have to use very specific ones, old ones where the exploit hasn't been fixed yet and modded physx drivers.. and even after that you will NOT be getting it to work in all games that have physx and usually it can be enabled via ini file tweaks etc. An entry level nvidia gpu is all you need if the only job it will be doing is physx. Expect crashes, bsods, errors in every direction as this thingie is not meant to work like this.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
85509 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.