Topic Title: Eyefinity not recognized on system start up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/02/2012 06:27 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2012 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CLIFFO_83
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/08/2011

Hi, I have a windows 7 x64 based Eyefinity setup consisting of:

3x LG E2442's running off an XFX 7970 XXX B.E

Left monitor connected via a wicked active mini DP to DVI adapter

Center monitor connected via DVI

and right monitor connected via HDMI

 

Now my problem is upon system start up, I have to unplug the mini DP adapter, start system, then once system has booted I plug DP adapter back in for eyefinity to work on all 3 displays.

If I dont do this, eyefinity is not recognized and only the center monitor is displayed.

It's a p.i.t.a having to do this all the time and would like to know if there is a fix for it or if I have setup my eyefinity display group wrong.

Cheers..

 

 

 



-------------------------

OS: WINDOWS 7 x64 | CPU: AMD PHENOM II X4 955 B.E 3.8GHZ | MOBO: GIGABYTE 990FXAUD3 | MEMORY: 16GB CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600Mhz | GPU: XFX 7970 XXX B.E | SSD: CORSAIR GT 120GB O.S | HDD: WD 2TB CAVIAR BLACK | PSU: CORSAIR TX 850 V2 | DVD: LG GH22-NS50 SUPER-MULTI | CASE: COOLERMASTER STORM SNIPER B.E | COOLING: CORSAIR H60



Edited: 11/02/2012 at 06:54 AM by CLIFFO_83
 11/02/2012 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Hmmm...almost sounds like a motherboard BIOS/UEFI issue.  Do you have the latest BIOS/UEFI release flashed?

Also, what version of CCC do you have installed and when was the last time that you uninstalled CCC completely and then cleaned up the left-overs with Driver Fusion?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/02/2012 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CLIFFO_83
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/08/2011

Originally posted by: Canis-X Hmmm...almost sounds like a motherboard BIOS/UEFI issue.  Do you have the latest BIOS/UEFI release flashed?

 

Also, what version of CCC do you have installed and when was the last time that you uninstalled CCC completely and then cleaned up the left-overs with Driver Fusion?

 

I have never flashed the bios and I have latest version of CCC, never used driver fusion either



-------------------------

OS: WINDOWS 7 x64 | CPU: AMD PHENOM II X4 955 B.E 3.8GHZ | MOBO: GIGABYTE 990FXAUD3 | MEMORY: 16GB CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600Mhz | GPU: XFX 7970 XXX B.E | SSD: CORSAIR GT 120GB O.S | HDD: WD 2TB CAVIAR BLACK | PSU: CORSAIR TX 850 V2 | DVD: LG GH22-NS50 SUPER-MULTI | CASE: COOLERMASTER STORM SNIPER B.E | COOLING: CORSAIR H60

 11/02/2012 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Well then, you should go to your motherboard manufacturer's support site, download them.....read in your motherboard manual how to flash your BIOS and then proceed.  FYI, flashing your BIOS is not hard at all, but it will revert any custom settings that you have in there back to default, so write them down/take pictures/etc so that you know what you had configured.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/03/2012 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CLIFFO_83
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/08/2011

Originally posted by: Canis-X Well then, you should go to your motherboard manufacturer's support site, download them.....read in your motherboard manual how to flash your BIOS and then proceed.  FYI, flashing your BIOS is not hard at all, but it will revert any custom settings that you have in there back to default, so write them down/take pictures/etc so that you know what you had configured.

 

I updated my mobo bios and all is good

No more unplugging DP adapter on startup YAY

Thanks for the advice.....



-------------------------

OS: WINDOWS 7 x64 | CPU: AMD PHENOM II X4 955 B.E 3.8GHZ | MOBO: GIGABYTE 990FXAUD3 | MEMORY: 16GB CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600Mhz | GPU: XFX 7970 XXX B.E | SSD: CORSAIR GT 120GB O.S | HDD: WD 2TB CAVIAR BLACK | PSU: CORSAIR TX 850 V2 | DVD: LG GH22-NS50 SUPER-MULTI | CASE: COOLERMASTER STORM SNIPER B.E | COOLING: CORSAIR H60

 11/05/2012 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CLIFFO_83
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/08/2011

I'm still having this problem, it went away after I updated bios for the first few system starts but it has returned.



-------------------------

OS: WINDOWS 7 x64 | CPU: AMD PHENOM II X4 955 B.E 3.8GHZ | MOBO: GIGABYTE 990FXAUD3 | MEMORY: 16GB CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600Mhz | GPU: XFX 7970 XXX B.E | SSD: CORSAIR GT 120GB O.S | HDD: WD 2TB CAVIAR BLACK | PSU: CORSAIR TX 850 V2 | DVD: LG GH22-NS50 SUPER-MULTI | CASE: COOLERMASTER STORM SNIPER B.E | COOLING: CORSAIR H60

Statistics
84958 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.