Topic Title: Radeon HD 7770
Topic Summary: Vertical sync problem
Created On: 11/04/2012 10:45 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2012 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6093
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161065&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/09/2012 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

Your Dead Space videos don't tell us anything new.  It's well known that the internal vsync of Dead Space at 30fps murders control response.  What I've told you is that it is greatly improved when you leave vsync off in the game, and force it through D3DOverrider, which gives you 60fps (assuming your card can handle it - use triple buffering if it can't).

 

 11/09/2012 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
di57inct
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/04/2012

Than you stumped for updating your thread.

It did work, it improved, but the lag is still there. Is there no way of getting rid of it? What's causing it? Why is it happening on my PC and isn't happening on any other?

Having to use a program to fix a problem with your PC is not a solution.

This is very disappointing and annoying...



-------------------------

 11/09/2012 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

The problem with Dead Space is caused by the game itself.  Using a third party program to work around defects in a game is nothing new, and certainly better than not working around the defects at all.

I don't play any of the other games in your list other than L4D and L4D2, neither of which show the slightest control lag for me with vsync enabled.

 

 12/08/2012 05:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
di57inct
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/04/2012

Sorry to revive the thread, but the same thing happens in Far Cry 3 now when V-Sync is on, on both double and triple buffered...

Also, I tested Payday at a friend on his hd 5000 series(can't remember exactly the number of his card, i think around 5600) and the same thing was happening with V-Sync, only that it wasn't lagging as much as on mine...

And, a new problem on Asassin's Creed III when anti aliasing is maxed out(very high. just high doesn't create this problem): http://i50.tinypic.com/2r7wkds.png

I understood that this is happening because of the drivers, which need to be updated...is that right?

Thank you all for your time and I hope these annoying problems can actually be solved...



-------------------------

 12/20/2012 06:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Azzitude
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/20/2012

Vsync should not be used at all .... even the GTX's are recommended not to turn on Vsync in games ...... Personally I think you may have an issue with Philips 191EW9/FB00 .... every philips I had was bad for lag .... I now use 2ms Asus monitors and have NO issues in any game ....but I dont use vsync either .... still cant understand why you want it .....

 

CPU AMD Athlon II X3 450 @ 3.2 GHz / 2 GHz Bus / 1.5 MB L2 Cache
RAM Kingston DDR3 @ 4 GB / 1333 MHz
GPU ATI Radeon HD 7770 GHZ Edition @ 1 GB / 1150 MHz Clock / 128 Bits

is that 2ghz bus the FSB? ....if so it's double what it actually should be....1ghz

maybe try without the overclocks? and add 4 more gb of ram?

 



Edited: 12/20/2012 at 06:51 AM by Azzitude
 12/20/2012 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
di57inct
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/04/2012

If it would of been the monitor, then all my games should be affected and it would happen even with V-Sync off, right?

I need the Vertical Sync because of the screen tearing when my FPS is higher than 60(most of the times, in many games).

Does this answer the FSB question? Rated Bus Speed: 1004.6 MHz

The GPU is not overclocked, that's its default Clock speed.

Also, 4 GB of RAM isn't enough?

Thank you very much for replying.



-------------------------

 12/20/2012 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6093
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: di57inct Sorry to revive the thread, but the same thing happens in Far Cry 3 now when V-Sync is on, on both double and triple buffered...

Also, I tested Payday at a friend on his hd 5000 series(can't remember exactly the number of his card, i think around 5600) and the same thing was happening with V-Sync, only that it wasn't lagging as much as on mine...

And, a new problem on Asassin's Creed III when anti aliasing is maxed out(very high. just high doesn't create this problem): http://i50.tinypic.com/2r7wkds.png

I understood that this is happening because of the drivers, which need to be updated...is that right?

Thank you all for your time and I hope these annoying problems can actually be solved...

Please read all the threads concerning AC3 and far Cry3...this is a game issue, not a driver issue. With the best video cards and processors, at maximum settings, there are issues. Generally vert sync is not used with triple buffering...and I see no reason for triple buffering in FC3 at all. In FC3 I have vert sync set to off and have the gpu buffer set at 1. It is off in CCC as well.

Also, look at these:  http://benchmark3d.com/assassins-creed-3-benchmark

http://benchmark3d.com/far-cry-3-benchmark 

I play FC3 with no issue....game runs smooth as butter. My fps? Average is 38. I play the game, not watch a fps counter. When I get home I will post my in-game and CCC settings.

Read all of the posts in this forum about those games...all the answers are there. And remember, FC3 just had it's third patch trying to solve issues....AC3, IMO, is a lost cause.

Edit: Make sure you have the latest CAP > http://benchmark3d.com/catalyst-application-profiles-12-11-cap-2



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 12/20/2012 at 11:27 AM by stumped
 12/20/2012 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
di57inct
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/04/2012

Originally posted by: stumped

Please read all the threads concerning AC3 and far Cry3...this is a game issue, not a driver issue. With the best video cards and processors, at maximum settings, there are issues. Generally vert sync is not used with triple buffering...and I see no reason for triple buffering in FC3 at all. In FC3 I have vert sync set to off and have the gpu buffer set at 1. It is off in CCC as well.

 

Also, look at these:  http://benchmark3d.com/assassins-creed-3-benchmark

 

http://benchmark3d.com/far-cry-3-benchmark

 

I play FC3 with no issue....game runs smooth as butter. My fps? Average is 38. I play the game, not watch a fps counter. When I get home I will post my in-game and CCC settings.

 

Read all of the posts in this forum about those games...all the answers are there. And remember, FC3 just had it's third patch trying to solve issues....AC3, IMO, is a lost cause.

 

Edit: Make sure you have the latest CAP > http://benchmark3d.com/catalyst-application-profiles-12-11-cap-2

As far as I heard, the beta drivers fix the max Anti-Aliasing problem from Assassin's Creed 3. Not true?

Your settings in Far Cry 3 are set to ultra?

My only problems in FC3 are the V-Sync(again) and low fps when looking at the open horizon. Nothing else. Also, the FPS is very good with some ultra and medium settings(DX 11).

Should I update to beta drivers?

Also, are those settings really necessary?



-------------------------

 12/20/2012 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6093
Joined: 11/13/2009

Look at the new CAP...it tells you what it fixes. Be sure to uninstall the old CAP before installing the new. I am using the beta drivers > http://benchmark3d.com/amd-catalyst-12-11-beta-11-9-01-8

http://benchmark3d.com/catalyst-12-11-beta-11-far-cry-3-performance-micro-review

I used the Ultra settings at first...no stuttering, but fps dipped to 28 in places. I now use a mixture...and post processing set to low. I will post the settings later.

Read this > http://www.hardocp.com/article/2012/12/17/far_cry_3_video_card_performance_iq_review/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 12/20/2012 at 12:11 PM by stumped
AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » Radeon HD 7770

<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
81000 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.