Topic Title: Overheating HD5800 with temperature controled fan speed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/09/2012 07:38 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2012 07:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deatheye
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/09/2012

Hi

It seems my Grafikkart is overheating and causing a system freeze.

If I manually control the Fan speed and set it to something like 60% there are no freezes anymore.
With that setting the temperature stays at around 60°.
With activated temperature controled fan speed the temperature goes higher and seems to cause a freeze at 79° +. Im'n not sure where exactly cause it takes a while and I can't see the temperature after the freeze.

Manually setting the fan speed is not really a solution cause that either means I need to set it to 100% speed all the time or manually adjust it all the time.

So basically what I'm looking for is an option to let it stay on temperature control but to define the max temperature it can reach.

I wasn't able to fint such an option on the catalyyst control Center.
Any advice where to set this or do I need an additional tool for this?

 11/09/2012 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

A LOT of us use MSI Afterburner. It  has automatic fan control speed vs temp.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/09/2012 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deatheye
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/09/2012

Sadly there seems to be no rating option. I'd really like to give you a good one.

You confirmed my suspision that there is no option for this in the catalyst control center and gave me an option that works. It even works on windows 8 x64 which I really was worried about. 

Thanks, love you now  

 11/09/2012 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Actually there is a simple solution using the settings in CCC. I have two presets for fan speeds. One is using automatic fan speed control (labeled 'normal') and the second with manual control and fan speed set at 60% (labeled 'games'). If you make these two presets, then click the CCC icon in the taskbar and select which one you want.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/10/2012 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 278
Joined: 09/16/2012

I just click on the overdrive in the CCC wich I have the fan set to 65% but what sucks is that if I forget to do this my cards will lock up. Wich can be really fustrating when your getting noobed on CoD and your out for revenge.

Anyhow, it would be nice if CCC had a fan speed profile like MIS afterburner.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 11/10/2012 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

I feel your pain. Back when ATI was running the show, you could make a profile/preset that would include fans/graphic options/clock speeds all in one setting. But for now, making a custom profile for the game and having a 'game' preset for my fan settings is the best I can do. But having to remember to change the preset is a pain.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/10/2012 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

Yeah ATI/AMD screwed up with the fan settings on 5850 cards. My 5850 will overheat as well in most games with the stock fan settings. Not sure what they thought when they set those settings or how they decided what those should be. Can't have tested them properly.

 



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


Statistics
85390 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.