Topic Title: 12.10 driver update causes monitor not to wake up
Topic Summary: 12.10 driver update causes monitor not to wake up
Created On: 11/12/2012 01:25 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/12/2012 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PhilUsher
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/12/2012

Hi Gang,

Yesterday I updated to the 12.10 x64 (Windows 7) graphics driver for my HIS IceQ H6950 graphics adaptor.  I have three monitors and prior to this update they would all wake up properly from power saving. 

However, following the 12.10 update my Hanns-g 28" monitor will no longer wake up from sleep state.  The other two Acer monitors awaken without problem by the Hanns-g must now be turned off and back on again.

Is anyone else experiencing a similar problem with the 12.10 update?

System Spec Summary:

i7-2600K (3.4GHz) | ASRock Fatal1ty P67 | 16GB RAM (2133) | HD 6950 |
2 x Acer 24" + 1 x Hanns-g 28" | some SSD's and HDD's, sound and such



-------------------------

Cheers ... Phil Usher

 11/12/2012 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
damon_m
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/12/2012

I have also been having a similar problem for some time on my 6990 card, running a 24" dell monitor on the DVI port and a 30" dell on one of the mini display ports, the 30" monitor often would not wake up out of sleep mode.. To fix I had to turn it off and back on again.

The other day I installed the new update and now there is no output at all on any of the mini display ports on the card... I can only run one monitor.

I am at a loss as to what has caused this and how to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

 



-------------------------
 11/13/2012 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robains
Buffed

Posts: 92
Joined: 10/04/2007

I'm having similar problems after updating to 12.10 on Windows 7 64bit.  Running two 5870's ... my HP LP3065 goes to sleep and never comes back.  Also have problem with the monitor just going black while playing games and then comes back to life about 5 seconds later.

I'm moving back to the 12.08 drivers since I never had any of these issues.

Hopefully it gets sorted out ... other option is to drop in an nVidia card -- both companies seem to have driver issues but nVidia's seem a little less serious than ATIs.



-------------------------
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." - Carl Sagan
 11/14/2012 06:10 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4070
Joined: 01/27/2008

I'll just throw my 2cents in here too. With win 8 and 12.11b6 resuming from standby/sleep leaves the monitor blank.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/19/2012 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
damon_m
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/12/2012

Hi all, I still have not been able to resolve my issue and am still only getting output to one monitor.

I have uninstalled all drivers and gone back to the 12.8 version drivers.. still no luck..

I am running Win 7 x64, i7 990x processor, 12gb  ddr3 1333mhz  ram. 1 x ati 6990 card running defult settings. (never o/c)

I would love to hear some kind of a responce from ATI on this. my card is only just over 12 months old (2 weeks) and is now considered out of warranty.



-------------------------
 11/19/2012 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

The best thing to do is report this to AMD http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F58

Also check in 'power options' > 'advanced options'.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87482 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.