Topic Title: Cannot view BIOS POST screen on 2560x1440 monitor
Topic Summary: Purchased Shimian monitor; beautiful screen but does not display raw 640x480
Created On: 11/19/2012 11:12 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/19/2012 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pjobs
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/19/2012

I recently purchased a new Shimian monitor that has a native 2560x1440 resolution.  I cannot see the POST screen during power up.  I have an older AMD 5800 series card that works purfectly otherwise with this monitor.  Given that the monitor is connected through a DVI-D cable (the only connector on this monitor) and the monitor cannot display raw 640x480 as output by the BIOS POST hardware, are there newer AMD Graphics cards that will "talk" to this monitor successfully (probably by automatically upscaling the 640x480 to some higher resolution before any display drivers are loaded).  Note that I can configure a Windows 7 boot to display 640x480 (as painful as this is for a test) successfully.  The Windows 7 must upscale the video.  Are there newer AMD Graphics cards that can do this before any drivers are loaded during the POST?  I would hate to give up this monitor but I need to see the POST occasionally.

 11/20/2012 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

How about.. connect a different monitor to one of the other ports?

 



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/20/2012 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pjobs
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/19/2012

I am short on room and would rather not do that.

 11/21/2012 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1399
Joined: 07/13/2009

Best guess is that the monitor's EDID information is wrong, which means the card doesn't know it needs to scale the output before a driver is loaded.

Not a whole lot you can do, if that's the case.

 

 01/01/2013 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pjobs
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/19/2012

For anyone who cares.  I updated my video card from an older HD 5850 to an HD 7870.  This fixed the problem.

 01/01/2013 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU-10-SupportedResolutionsUnavailableforMonitor.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85363 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.