Topic Title: Hybrid Graphic instalation
Topic Summary: Visiontek 3450 Graphic card
Created On: 12/03/2012 07:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/03/2012 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nefertem7
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/03/2012

Hi i currently  have a Acer E380 Desktop with a Visiontek 3450  PCI input, card i am planing on upgrading my motherboard to a Asus for a more stable Bios and faster CPU the new board is Hybrid ready i just wanted to know if it would work with a PCIx16  input or only a PCIe1 slot thanks Tim



-------------------------


Edited: 12/03/2012 at 10:31 PM by nefertem7
 12/03/2012 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yeah that's an old machine... Nice. 

I'm not sure if you're attempting to upgrade that machine with a new motherboard or replace it altogether.  You should be trying to replace it.  AGP replaced PCI for video cards about fifteen years ago... then PCI Express replaced AGP.  The slots aren't compatible, so you can't plug a PCI card into a PCI Express slot.

If you get a "hybrid" processor, then it will have graphics integrated into it that is light years beyond your PCI card anyway. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 12/03/2012 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed, a Trinity APU's graphics far exceed the HD 3450 (which was weak when it was released to begin with), plus being such an old system it would be better to go ahead an update the entire thing, case, PSU, OS, everything.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/03/2012 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nefertem7
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/03/2012

Hi thanks for the input i am running Windows 7 the desktop came with Vista, as for the graphics card i bought it last summer, i am sorry for the misinformation it is a PCIe x16 slot my current board only had one PCIe1 slot which i have a TV tunercard on it to watch tv, the Board i am considering is a ASUS M5A78L-M LX. with a onboard AMD 3000 graphic chip. i understand there are better grafic card my main use is watch H D Tv on my monitor, ( I have no plans on switching to Windows 8 so i want to have this desktop run 7 for a few more years

 

 

 

 



-------------------------


Edited: 12/03/2012 at 10:31 PM by nefertem7
 12/03/2012 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

Ok, maybe it's not such an old system... just a strangely old video card.  In that case an upgrade isn't unreasonable since you're not looking for power hungry hardware anyway.

If it's only for HDTV, you're probably better off getting a board with the FM2 socket, so you can put one of the A series chips in there.  If you do that, you won't need a separate video card, and you'll get better graphics than with that Asus board.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 12/03/2012 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nefertem7
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/03/2012

Thanks mine for your input , i need a micro atx board so i saw a few Asus boards i was looking at i will get the Asus F2A85-M/CSM Socket FM2 Motherboard and forget about doing the Hybrid crossfire thanks Tim



-------------------------
Statistics
80954 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.