Topic Title: Black(s) not black?
Topic Summary: Is black not black for you?
Created On: 12/08/2012 05:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/08/2012 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BullGod
Buffed

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/07/2007

Greetings fellow AMD lovers.
I seem to be noticing that my HD7870 displays ‘black’ in a very dark purple, or dark grey hue. It is only noticeable when the game is attempting to display ‘black’, then the rest of the scene is also dark.  I did not have this problem on my HD5770. I have even switched out the 7870 for the 5770 just to prove the difference, and the 5770 displays black as black (as best an LCD can anyway).

Now some may think right away, why doesn’t he just adjust the gamma?  Well, I have while the 7870 is installed, and I am not able to get black, well, black.  The 5770 displays blacks just fine.

Has anyone else noticed this difference with the 7XXX series? I just really want my backs to look black, without going back to my 5770.

Please understand that I LOVE my 7870, but not being able to display blacks like the 5770 is just frustrating.

Anyone have any suggestions or notice the same?  I have changed all color settings in the CCC, but I still can not reproduce the black of the 5770.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

BullGod

[edited to correct font]



-------------------------

BullGod - "GAME ON!!"
NZXT Gamma ~ Liquid Cooled-AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black ~ 4 GB DDR3-1600 ~ Radeon HD 7870 ~ ASUS M4A79XTD EVO ~ NZXT Sentry 2 ~ Saitek Keyboard, Acer 27" LCD Monitor ~ Windows 8 Pro 64



Edited: 12/08/2012 at 07:02 PM by BullGod
 12/08/2012 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OneGun
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 11/28/2012

How do you have it hooked up to your monitor by hdmi?If yes was it hooked up hdmi on old card?

 12/08/2012 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BullGod
Buffed

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/07/2007

No, DVI on both from card to monitor. No RGB converters involved, just straight DVI



-------------------------

BullGod - "GAME ON!!"
NZXT Gamma ~ Liquid Cooled-AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black ~ 4 GB DDR3-1600 ~ Radeon HD 7870 ~ ASUS M4A79XTD EVO ~ NZXT Sentry 2 ~ Saitek Keyboard, Acer 27" LCD Monitor ~ Windows 8 Pro 64

 12/08/2012 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12210
Joined: 04/17/2008

Same thing on both DVI ports? How about on a HDTV via HDMI?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/09/2012 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BullGod
Buffed

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/07/2007

Same result on both ports.

The connection from the graphics card to the monitor does not change, that is a constant. The only thing that changes is the graphics card hardware, which tells me it is a setting on the 7800 that I am missing, or the card is processing color differently.

When I pop the 5700 back in, all is well concerning color (black).

Odd and frustrating because i like my black, black. I really do not want to have to go backwards to get it to look the way it should.

I did fail to note that this is only in 3D processing, I do not see this on the desktop. Drivers should be out as I am using the same driver for the 5700 and 7800.



-------------------------

BullGod - "GAME ON!!"
NZXT Gamma ~ Liquid Cooled-AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black ~ 4 GB DDR3-1600 ~ Radeon HD 7870 ~ ASUS M4A79XTD EVO ~ NZXT Sentry 2 ~ Saitek Keyboard, Acer 27" LCD Monitor ~ Windows 8 Pro 64

Statistics
84183 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.