Topic Title: Ground flickering in Aika Online using Club3D 7970 Royal Ace [fixed]
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/09/2012 09:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2012 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SnowmanDK
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/09/2012

I just bought the Club3D 7970 Pokerseries Royal Ace card.

Since I started using this card I have flickering on the ground in Aika Online.
So far it's the only game I noticed this problem in.
It is not a CONSTANT flicker, but it's still annoying. 

The problem was NOT present with my old SapphireTech HD5850 card.

I do use the newest drivers (same as with the old card). 

I have tried messing around with the gfx settings in the game, but to no avail. Did not try window mode though.
I run the game at 2560x1440 (background resolution, Full) with all settings at max, except "Maximum number of targets" which is set to 4 (default afaik).
Any ideas?



Edited: 12/10/2012 at 01:50 PM by AMD Support and Game Moderator
 12/09/2012 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Offler
Grinding Levels

Posts: 115
Joined: 06/25/2010

AMD graphics have currently some trouble with DirectX 9 renderings... its a driver issue. More info here:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160356&enterthread=y&STARTPAGE=1

Also from what I know AMD is currently working on this issue...



-------------------------

Xeon X3360, Asus Rampage, Gigabyte HD 7970OC, Corsair HX-650

 12/10/2012 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OneGun
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 11/28/2012

The problem is with the 7xxx series cards and the new drivers.I had the same problems and i RMAed my card got new one and same issues.I downloaded 12.4 drivers did a driver purge using driver sweeper of old drivers and installed the 12.4 and i no longer have issues.

 12/10/2012 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SnowmanDK
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/09/2012

Thank you for the answer Offler.

I just have one question to your answer:
If it's a driver issue, why didn't it occur with my old HD5850?

It's the same driver I use. 

 

OneGun, I'd like to use your solution, but can't use such an old driver.
The game's anti-cheat system think I am speedhacking when using older drivers. I MIGHT be able to use 12.8, but not sure.

 12/10/2012 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Offler
Grinding Levels

Posts: 115
Joined: 06/25/2010

This bug is presen only on DirectX 9 games and only with HD 7000 graphics. Other Amd graphics are  OK. Also all DX 8/10/11 games are also OK.

However DX9 is still dominant API used for programming.



-------------------------

Xeon X3360, Asus Rampage, Gigabyte HD 7970OC, Corsair HX-650

 12/10/2012 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SnowmanDK
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/09/2012

Ah ok. A combination... Got it

As it's a know issue, then I consider this topic closed (If a mod would be so nice and close it).
Thanks for the answers. 

 12/10/2012 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OneGun
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 11/28/2012

Then try 12.6 cause 12.8 and newer are the ones with problems.

Statistics
86438 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.