Topic Title: Does VTX RADEON 5450 work ok with FIFA 12 & C.O.D. ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2012 02:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2012 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragzit
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/28/2012

hello

I just installed VTX RADEON 5450 to my old DELL DIMENSION 4700. It's only 305w . but seems to be working so far.

Does anyone have this card in a PC with same or less wattage ?

Only issue i had was today after starting PC , the front amber light was on and the fan like a jet engine. I took out battery and mixed RAM, seems ok now.

one other query regarding games. I heard this isn't a gaming card and it gets a bad name on other forums ( I bought mainly for connection or PC to TV with HDMI.

But i ordered FIFA 12 and call of Duty. Does anyone have experience of these games running this card with 2GB RAM ?

I don't want to get into the business of overclocking.I'm not really a gamer, just a reasonable screen resolution for my 19inch LCD and 32 inch TV.

thanks

 12/28/2012 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12212
Joined: 04/17/2008

The HD 5450 is to weak to be anything other than a casual gaming card (think Solitare), it's intended as an HTPC and media PC card only where the power is put to better use with decoding and hardware accelerated playback. Wouldn't matter if you had a 5ghz i7, the 5450 won't cut it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/28/2012 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragzit
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion The HD 5450 is to weak to be anything other than a casual gaming card (think Solitare), it's intended as an HTPC and media PC card only where the power is put to better use with decoding and hardware accelerated playback. Wouldn't matter if you had a 5ghz i7, the 5450 won't cut it.

thx,   but if I went the next best in range, it would mean a new Power unit to handle card ? like 500 w or something?  Would it end there if system is 2004 ?

 12/28/2012 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

I think your best answer would be to look at the game's hardware spec requirements for the most demanding game that you would like to play and use the recommended specs as your guideline for what you will need.  Each game lists them so that the purchaser is informed as to what the game will need to play properly.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

Statistics
84185 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.