Topic Title: Radeon HD 6750: Scrambled graphics on resume from Sleep
Topic Summary: Windows 8 system displays glitchy desktop after waking
Created On: 12/30/2012 03:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2012 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Guppy
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2012

Hi folks,

I have been trouble with my Windows 8-x64 system.  On waking from sleep, the system displays scrambled graphics every single time -- you can see bits and pieces of the Windows screen, but all glitchy and unreadable. 

The problem occurs both through the DVI output (to LCD) and HDMI (to TV), with both Catalyst 12.10, and the 12.11 beta.  Rebooting the system fixes the problem, and for now I've dealt with the problem by setting Windows to never automatically sleep.

The OS is a fresh install.  Allowing Memtest86 to run overnight reports no memory errors.  All clocks are at default frequency, driver settings are at defaults also.  Windows Desktop is set to "Duplicate", to display the same image to both LCD and TV connected.

Any suggestions as to how to fix this problem would be appreciated. 

 

  • System information:
  • Windows 8 x64 Pro: All recommended updates auto-installed.
  • Video card: XFX Radeon HD 6750 1GB DDR3 (Model HD675XZDFR)
  • CPU: AMD A6-3670K (Default frequency)
  • Motherboard: MSI A55M-p33 (Latest BIOS, ver 1.7)
  • PSU: Coolmax 600 watt
  • Memory: G.skill Ares DDR3-1600 8GB
  • Display: Emprex LM-2201 LCD attached via DVI.  Panasonic TV via HDMI.

 

 

 12/31/2012 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4004
Joined: 01/27/2008

You're not alone, I've read a number of posts with Win8 and waking issues. Me included. Most of the time the screens just stay blank.

I encourage you to report this to AMD using VECC's Contact Customer Care link or there's another link stickied here.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 12/31/2012 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Does it do the same thing when you wake it from hibernate? 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/02/2013 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Guppy
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2012

Originally posted by: HardwoodI encourage you to report this to AMD using VECC's Contact Customer Care link or there's another link stickied here.

I tried using the AMD Reporting link in the forum sticky, but it just says "Survey Closed".  I'll try the VECC link.

Originally posted by: Canis-X Does it do the same thing when you wake it from hibernate? 

 

Hibernate works, apparently.  

Statistics
84350 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.