Topic Title: HD 5850 is a mess
Topic Summary: I can't even turn my Computer on anymore
Created On: 01/02/2013 06:09 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/02/2013 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nick453453
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/02/2013

Ever since I bouight this 5850, it has been a mess. I've had issues with it since the beginning, but right now is the worst. I can't even turn my computer on anymore.

The current problem is this: My 5850 was having lots of issues. The screen would go black and the picture would never return despite my Monitor light still telling me there was a connection. In addition I would get constant flickering and screen flashes. I tried cleaning out my computer, swapping the GPU to another port thing, reinstalling the current driver, running scans/defrags/registry cleans/etc, increasing the fan power, etc. I recently tried reverting back to an older version of Catalyst, I think 10 (I can't check since my computer wont even work...) and apparently that messed up everything. Now when I turn my computer on, it says to run startup repair. And then everytime after, the screen just goes black. Any subsequent attempts doesn't even give me a connection to the GPU/Monitor, the screen is black and the monitor light lets me know there is no input. My computer is literally useless right now.

Please, try to help me . I want to like AMD/ATI, but ***** like this is just stupid.

Details:
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5850 (XFX) (NO overclock, even underclocked issues were still there)

Driver Version: Was the most recent then went to like 10

Motherboard: MSI 890FXA-GD70 cant check BIOS since I cant even turn it on

PSU: Corsair 650 W

Display Device: HD Cable to a Viewsonic 1920/1080p monitor

CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition (Not overclocked)

Memory: 4G of DDR3 1600 RAM (G.SKILL Ripjaws)

Case: Coolermaster HAF 922 (3 Fans, all working)



Edited: 01/02/2013 at 06:35 AM by nick453453
 01/02/2013 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

Do you see the POST screen?

Are there any beeps from the motherboard?

Will it boot from a CD/DVD/Flash drive?



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/02/2013 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nick453453
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/02/2013

What is the POST screen? I tried it again and I can get as far as Windows Repair before it goes black, and then I can't turn it on anymore.

There are no beeps from the Mobo.

How do I check? If you're talking about Windows, I have it installed on the SSD so I assume it boots from there, but I can't check since my monitor is black.

 01/02/2013 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

The POST screen is the diagnostic screen when you first turn on your computer during the pre OS testing procedure, checking the CPU, RAM, drives, etc... Since you can see this and other non Windows screens without issues it means it isn't the card itself.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/02/2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gfong
Buffed

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/28/2009

First take the card out and restart the computer to insure windows is operational again. Once you know that Windows is working correctly and that you get a picture with your on board video then clean out the ATI files with a program called Driver Sweeper, there are many posts on here on the proper sequence to do this (safe mode). Do not be in a rush when you do this. Once the files are all gone and your computer works, then shut down and install the card. Then use the disc that came with the card to install the drivers. Once everything works, you can update the drivers.

Dont skip any steps! good luck.



-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
GPU's: Crossfire XFX 5850 Standard & Black Edition
RAM: OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PSU: XFX 850W Black Edition
Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
Hard Drives: 2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB

Edited: 01/02/2013 at 09:35 AM by gfong
 01/02/2013 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nick453453
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/02/2013

How would I hook my Monitor to my onboard video? Without the GPU I don't know how/where to connect it to my monitor

 01/03/2013 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nick453453
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/02/2013

Still haven't figured out how to connect my computer to my monitor without the GPU -___-

 01/03/2013 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gfong
Buffed

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/28/2009

Your motherboard does not have onboard video but if you delete the drivers, Windows will use its native drivers to give you a picture. Just hook it up like you would normally.

Have you been over and look at the MSI message boards, they may be able to assist. I'll have a look over there as well.

Take a look through here: http://www.overclock.net/t/724846/official-msi-890fx-890gx-890g-club



-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
GPU's: Crossfire XFX 5850 Standard & Black Edition
RAM: OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PSU: XFX 850W Black Edition
Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
Hard Drives: 2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB

Edited: 01/03/2013 at 09:44 PM by gfong
 01/03/2013 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dai909
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/28/2010

i have the same motherboard, cpu and graphics card as you so hopefully I can help you

Before you go any further have you tried reseting the CMOS? If you haven't then I would try this first. on the panel where all your usb ports are there is a small black button. Press that with a pencil or pen to reset the CMOS/BIOS. Now try booting up again. If your still getting a blank screen then check below

When you turn on your pc there is a LED debug panel near the bottom of the board. This will run through a cycle until you enter windows. Once your in windows it turns into a temp readout.

Now if there is a problem with graphics card the pc will not boot up any further and the debug LED will display 2A. If that is the case the next best thing to do is either try a spare graphics card that you may have or go out and buy the cheapest AMD/ATI graphics card that you can find and try booting up with that. Or better still if friend has one borrow theirs   If it works then you'll know for sure that there is a problem with the card.

If with a second card it boots up but goes into repair mode and gives you the same problem then what you can try is booting up from your windows disc.

 

If you don't know how to do change what device boots first then just go into your bios settings and the 1st boot device to the dvd drive. To get into the bios settings press delete on your keyboard when you see the first msi splash screen (graphics screen that looks like the front of the box that the motherboard came in) If you know how to get into BIOS already then thats cool

Hopefully once you've saved and exited out BIOS your pc will now boot up using the windows disc. You should then be greeted with a screen similar/same as the install setup. There should be an option to repair whats installed already. once the that has ened it will reset and you'll have to go back in BIOS and change boot sequence back to booting up from your HDD first

Hopefully your pc will now boot up

If none the above ]fails to work let me know

If you need a list of debug codes then that can be found by going to page eng 29-02 in the owners handbook.

Hope this makes sense



Edited: 01/04/2013 at 07:01 AM by dai909
Statistics
85400 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.