Topic Title: Triple Monitor Resolution issues
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/04/2013 05:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/04/2013 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cybrex
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/26/2010

Radeon HD 5770

Driver: 9.2.0.0

Windows 7 64bit SP1

Asus P5KSE Board

Thermaltake 700w

3, 23" Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM Max Res 1920x1080

2 using DVI cables third runs through active displayport 

Intel Duo Core 3ghz

8gigs DDR

 

I have recently purchased the 3 monitors listed above.  I didn't create a multi-display group at first and when I didnt, I would constantly loose the monitor connected to the displayport, would no longer display anything and would just revert to just using the other two monitors.

 If I opened a game it would display the game on all 3 monitors as the same thing if the game didnt support triple monitor Ie. Starcraft 2 but when I closed the game I would loose all resolution and would be extremely low.  With both these issues I would have to unplug and replug the adapter multiple times to get my resolution back to where it was or some times restart the computer to force it that way.

 

Without the group created I would get a resolution of something like 5760x1080 but since creating the eyefinity group I am being forced to use a resolution of 3964x1024 and let me tell you, it looks horrible.  Everything is now stretched, images, video's just about anything I do, what were boxes are now rectangles and even the fonts/words on the the screens just look horrible.

 

How can I get the higher resolution I had before the group was created so things look proper?

 01/05/2013 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4044
Joined: 01/27/2008

Do these monitors still require you to buy your own displayport cable? Maybe you got a crappy one. This is assuming you meant "native" displayport (no adapters) vs. "active"

Your post has some oddities that don't make sense. eg. There's no way to get 5760x1080 without creating an eyefinity group. Just so we're not making assumptions, please proof read what  you wrote and correct if needed.

When in eyefinity mode, It's normal for games to display the same thing on all 3 monitors if it (the game) doesn't support eyefinity or if the eyefinity resolution hasn't been set in the game's config options.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/05/2013 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cybrex
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/26/2010

Hey, ummm, Hardwood.

 

This is what I am using for my third monitor...

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814999032

 

I had a feeling someone was going to say there was no way, but up untill I made the group (something I had JUST read online) I in fact was running at that level resolution.  If you really need me to, I will remove the group and see if it'll revert back to what I was using (but with all the annoying problems that came with it) and then take screenshots.

 

Well the game thing is fine, I just turn off the other two monitors so its not distracting, but when it comes to everything else, I cant work like this.  School starts back up on monday and if Im working in Illustrator, Photoshop, zbrush or what ever program's we'll be working with this semster I can't have everything distorted like this because when I take my work to school, its not going to look the same.

 01/07/2013 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4044
Joined: 01/27/2008

We can make this work Cybrex, so don't touch anything for a bit.

I need to know exactly which make and model of 5770 you have. When I google it, there's a few versions with different outputs. Need to know what you have.

I see your monitors' inputs are the same as mine, i.e. 1 VGA, 1 DVI, 1 DP so that's good, just need the above info.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/07/2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cybrex
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/26/2010

This here is my video card

 

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?psn=0001&pid=305&lid=1

So two monitors connected to the Dual-link DVI and one connected to the Displayport.

 01/07/2013 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

As per the link, the Sapphire HD5770 has:

2 x Dual-Link DVI ports
1 x HDMI
1 x DP

If you want 3 displays connected, 2 of the 3 DELL U2312HM need to be connected to each of the two DVI ports. The remaining U2312HM needs to be on the DisplayPort.

The U2312HM monitors have a DP input, so I would strongly encourage you to use a direct DisplayPort cable connection, and avoid the added expense of an ActiveDP adapter.

Each display supports 1920x1080, so the classic/standard Eyefinity Group resolution will be 5760x1080 with all 3 displays horizontally in a row.  When you create the Eyefinity Group (for all intent and purpose) your computer thinks you have just 1 monster monitor connected that runs 5760x1080 resolution.  If a game supports "Eyefinity" it basically means the game supports those big, big resolutions.  I am not sure what to expect playing a game that doesn't support those resolutions.  I would just disable the group if you wanted to.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 01/07/2013 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cybrex
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/26/2010

omg Marc, that is the greatest thing I have heard, I never even THOUGHT to see if my monitors had a Display Port Cable connection since I've been using that adapter ofr so long and I just got the monitors about a month ago!

 

This is fantastic, I will be heading out to pick one up first thing tomorrow!

 

The most logical answer is the one least thought of. haha.

 01/08/2013 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4044
Joined: 01/27/2008

I was hoping you had that model with the two DVI.

Funny thing about the Ultrasharps is the native displayport is a MAJOR selling point along with the IPS screen.

So now set up an eyefinity group and then save that as a preset.

Then change everything back to single screen and save that as a preset.

I also set up presets for extend Left and extend Right, you could also add a preset to extend Left and right.

When you want to change your screens, the icon in the system tray will have the presets for a quick change.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/09/2013 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cybrex
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/26/2010

And the verdict is in!  DP Cable works like a charm, resolution back to where it should be.  Thanks everyone!

Statistics
86507 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.