Topic Title: What adapters do I need for 3xEyefinity with DVI-only displays?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/08/2013 12:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/08/2013 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lennarn
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2013

I just bought an MSI R7950 TwinFrozr OC, which has 1 DVI, 1 HDMI, 2 mini-DP.

I have three monitors that all require DVI inputs.

What adapters will I need to drive all these displays in Eyefinity with my card?

Apparently, dp++ ports handle passive dp-dvi adapters, but the ports on my card aren't marked as such. I can probably save money by using the dvi for one display, and getting an hdmi-dvi passive adapter since as far as I know hdmi is electrically compatible with dvi.

In short, is my card able to drive a passive dp-dvi adapter? Will there be any perceivable difference between the hdmi-driven and the dp-driven displays?

 01/08/2013 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 998
Joined: 11/22/2010

Use 1x DVI, 1x HDMI-DVI and 1x ACTIVE DP-DVI Adapter, it has to be active, or third screen won't work.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/08/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lennarn
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2013

Does it need to be dual-link? I'm running the displays at their native 1280x1024.

 01/08/2013 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
George@AMD
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/10/2012

Originally posted by: zipsi Use 1x DVI, 1x HDMI-DVI and 1x ACTIVE DP-DVI Adapter, it has to be active, or third screen won't work.

 

Zipsi is correct.

Here is a list of our certified adapters:

http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/Pages/eyefinity-dongles.aspx

You will need to get an ACTIVE mini DP - DVI adapter



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care
The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 01/08/2013 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
George@AMD
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/10/2012

Single link is good enough using 1280x1024 resolution



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care
The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 01/08/2013 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

And single-link active adapters can get enough power directly from the DisplayPort link.  Dual-link adapters require additional power through a USB cable.  They also cost around three times as much, last I checked.

 

 03/02/2013 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
XtReMe98
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/02/2013

Originally posted by: zipsi Use 1x DVI, 1x HDMI-DVI and 1x ACTIVE DP-DVI Adapter, it has to be active, or third screen won't work.

 

Any idea if using two dvi's and an active dp to dvi adaptor would work on something like a 5770? I can't for the life of me get the 3rd monitor to come up

 

Statistics
84242 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.