Topic Title: Every reboot, monitor setup is messed up every time
Topic Summary: Presets
Created On: 01/09/2013 01:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2013 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
frontliner99
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

I have a 6870 and a triple monitor setup on Win7x64. Whenever I reboot the setup gets completely screwed up and horribly switched around. I have to manually load a preset after boot to get them back in order. The start menu ("main") is usually on the 26" horizontal, but on reboot it switches to the vertical 20" and the 26" then thinks it is vertical.

DVI - 26" main

HDMI - Reciever/Projector (usually off)

DP>VGA active converter - Vertical 20" Monitor

 01/10/2013 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
George@AMD
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/10/2012

You may try this out to see if it resolves your issue.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2496400



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care
The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 01/13/2013 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
frontliner99
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

KB didn't fix the issue, my monitors are still all flipped around on boot and I have to use an AMD profile to fix them.

 01/13/2013 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1438
Joined: 01/31/2010

may you should flip the cables around the way the reboot wants them, makes it easier



-------------------------

 01/14/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
frontliner99
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

I cannot flip them around, as not all devices have the hookups needed for that (for example the HDMI out to the projector is specific to that). In any case, the setup shouldn't be changing on reboot.

 01/15/2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Try to work through a really, really clean and thorough uninstall of all AMD Drivers & Software from the system.  Then reinstall the driver.  In the Forum's How-To category, there is a thread that stumped created to help walk through that process.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 02/25/2013 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
frontliner99
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

I clean installed the newest drivers, it did not seem to help. Even if I have my receiver powered on when I boot my desktop, it always boots with the desktop on the wrong monitor and the other monitor flipped vertical. Basically it is sort of getting the two monitors backwards. No matter what, I always have to invoke a preset on boot.

How I have my desktop arranged is (on the desktop management properties):

Left monitor: Dell 2005FWP - Vertical 1050x1680 res

Middle monitor: Asus VW266H - Horizontal 1920x1200

Right monitor: Sanyo z700 Projector - 1920x1080

Statistics
88770 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.