Topic Title: Windows not starting on bootup after driver installation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2013 04:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2013 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cait833
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2012

(Not sure whether to post this here or in the driver forum, but it a serious issue, so here it is.)

Hello, I have just built my new computer with these specs:

Sapphire Radeon HD7970 Vapor-X, no OC

Windows 7 64-bit

ASUS P8Z77V-LX

Akasa Venompower 850W 80 Plus Gold

2 x iiyama ProLite E2273HDS-1

Intel Core i7-3770K

BIOS version 1502

Patriot Memory Viper Black Mamba DDR3 4x4GB 1600MHz

I did not have the graphic cards or monitors at first, so I just used my TV and the onboard graphics whilst I updated and installed everything again. I just installed the graphics card and monitors, but when I install the drivers for it and reboot, either:

(A) the desktop background comes up, but no UI as the screen seems to have shrunken inwards. I'm not usre whether it's just that I need to adjust the screen somehow afterwards, but it seems rather strange.

Or

(B) it hangs on the Windows logo welcome screen, where the background is black with the glowing logo.

I am using a Crucial m4 256GB SSD as my bootdrive and so it is where I install my drivers, but I'm not sure whether that would be the cause. Maybe I should install it on my HDD (Seagate 3TB)?

EDIT: I have tried 12.8, 12.10 and 12.11, but none work .

If (A) happens and I press Ctrl + Alt + Delete the screen goes black, and then if I hit Esc it goes back to the 'desktop' with no UI still.



Edited: 01/09/2013 at 04:29 PM by cait833
 01/09/2013 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fenriswlf
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/28/2009

•Did you disable the onboard video in the BIOS first?

•You say "monitors"; are you trying to do multiple displays? If so just try one monitor to begin with.

 01/09/2013 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cait833
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2012

I disable the Intel HD 4000 graphics via the device manager and set the GPU in the BIOS to PCIe or just leave it auto - both have the same effect, or rather, lack of.

Only one of my monitors work at a time at the moment - haven't set up the 'dual' part yet.

 01/09/2013 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cait833
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2012

Okay, false alarm!

My dad accidentally pulled the power plug out of one of the monitors a bit when swapping over the input cables as the other monitor wasn't working at first (the same thing). So everything is working fine now, and I just saw that the new 12.11 beta driver fixes Skyrim's missing shadows !

Statistics
84888 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.