Topic Title: Quad Display
Topic Summary: Four displays simultanous
Created On: 01/10/2013 05:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2013 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Katzikatz
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/17/2009

Hi

 

i got a XFX HD7870, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H and a Core i5 3570.

Connected to this are 3 TFT displays and a flatpanel TV.

 

I  connected two monitors to the HD7870 with 2xDVI or 1xDVI + 1xDP-DVI-Adapter. The TV is connected via HDMI to the HD7870. The fourth display is connected via DVI to the GigaBytes Intel Graphics port.

 

I can use three displays in every variation, but never four.

Why does it always say to disattach a monitor to enable another (fourth one)?

 

I want to connect the TV to the HD7870 for playing games via TV.

 

Is this a driver problem or a hardware limitations?

Cant the Intel Graphics be seen as an additional graphics card?

In my old PC i got a HD5850 and a small HD3750 and used four displays simultanously...

 01/11/2013 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

Posts: 127
Joined: 01/10/2013

Intel and AMD drivers are completely different and won't be able to be used at the same time (same with laptops, where it's Intel or AMD, never both). As such, you can only get 4 monitors running by using 4 ports on 1 AMD card, or by using 2 AMD Radeon cards together. It's just a limitation of Intel+AMD at the same time, the same goes for Intel+nVidia and nVidia+AMD, it has to be all one brand, due to the driver software used. That's why your 5850+3750 worked together, you used the same manufacturer and card family.



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.
 01/11/2013 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 07/13/2009

I don't know about Intel and AMD together, but there is no issue using nVidia and AMD together at the same time, each with their own displays.  Just so long as you're not using Vista, which killed the ability to run two display drivers at the same time.  Works fine in XP and 7 (and probably 8).

Are you sure you can use three displays connected only to the AMD card?  You definitely require an active DVI-DP adapter for that.

 

 01/12/2013 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Katzikatz
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/17/2009

good morning

 

thanny i remember having read something like this.

windows 7 was anounced a feature that it can handle two different graphics card drivers at the same time...

so today i tested all monitors at the hd7870 and you are right, i cannot put all three tft to use at the same time.

i got a logilink cv0037, maybe this one is the problem?

at least three tft at this card must work for this is an eyefinity card...

 01/12/2013 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Katzikatz
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/17/2009

i just checked the following variant

2x tft via dvi

1x tv vie hdmi

and it also fails...

do i need an adapter anyway to setup three displays because both dvi and the hdmi does not work together?

 01/12/2013 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I'd just run everything off the 7870, and ignore the IGP in your i5.  If you had a weaker video card, then it might be worth it to see if you could mix and match, but the 7870 will probably be powerful enough to handle everything on its own.

Like Thanny said, you'll need an active DVI to DP adapter to get the 3+ displays working once you do that.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/13/2013 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Katzikatz
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/17/2009

hi and thx

 

the intention was to use 4 displays at a time and therefore i must use the igp

or does the 7870 can handle more than three monitors?

 

tomorrow i will get my active dp adapter...

i will report

 01/13/2013 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I'm not sure if you can span a single display across four screens, but yeah you should be able to run four displays from it one way or another.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/14/2013 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Katzikatz
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/17/2009

Hi guys,

 

so i got the Sapphire Active Mini DP DVI Adapter and now its working...

I can drive all four displays at the same time...

 

The adapter did not want to work with my very old Samsung BF930 but it has no problem with the new displays.

 

Thanks for your help!!!

Statistics
85707 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.