Topic Title: HIS AMD Radeon HD6450 1GB - Poor Game Performance - Request Assistance
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2013 12:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2013 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
corky26
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/12/2013

Hello - I recently purchased a new video card to play a game called War of the Roses and it isn't performing.  Does anyone have a recommendation or direction?

The new card (HIS AMD Radeon HD6450 1GB) exceeds the recommended requirements, yet it is so choppy that it is unplayable.  I believe the driver is current but perhaps I can adjust the CCC settings?  I would appreciate any advice and direction to prevent me from returning the new video card.

Thank you

PS the games recommended requirements are: Shader 4.0 compatible card (recommended: Nvidia GeForce 460, AMD Radeon 5870)

 01/13/2013 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

I beleieve you should spend some time with Mr. Google and find out what all those settings are for in the control panel....and i doubt any help for your game is forthcoming with all that info you supplied. Here are a few starters:  http://www.anandtech.com/show/4061/amds-radeon-hd-6970-radeon-hd-6950/9    >  http://hardocp.com/article/2011/12/19/amd_catalyst_121_preview_profiles_performance/      >     http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=350890   >   http://benchmark3d.com/mlaa-2-0-performance-and-image-quality-review   and be sure to uncheck "surface format optimization"  and put a checkmark in "Application controlled tesselation".

To keep a perspective of your cards capabilities >  http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/mid_range_gpus.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 01/13/2013 at 02:35 PM by stumped
 01/13/2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
corky26
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/12/2013

Hello again Stumped.  Thank you for the advice - I've implemented the changes as recommended and have noted some increased performance. 

The links provided are interesting and informative but unfortunately some of it is a little over my head and I may have to seek advice elsewhere.

 01/13/2013 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a good starting point:  (put a checkmark in triple buffering also)

ScreenShot002-3.jpg



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/13/2013 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
corky26
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/12/2013

Thank you - it's a little better when I checked triple buffering but still unplayable. 

Some gamer forums suggested that it is a frames per second issue which I am also looking into, but this is just very frustrating because my old Nvidea graphics card (which did not even meet the minimum game requirements) performed better in game for 20 minutes before crashing.  If I can't find a solution I may have to return the new video card.

 01/13/2013 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

If you can post a screenshot of the in-game settings, maybe i could make some suggestions. What driver version are you using (12.10, 12.11, etc)? Have you installed the latest CAP ?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/13/2013 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

There is also this review > While the game is visually interesting at many occasions, those visuals come at a cost. While I cannot say that my gaming computer is anything special, I can run most modern games at a solid 60 frames-per-second with the graphics turned to medium. However, with War of the Roses, I had to turn almost all of the settings to the lowest possible options and make sure I was not running any other programs while I played the game to achieve the standard 60 FPS benchmark. Granted, the game does look very good, even on its lowest settings, but needless to say this is not a game for those who have to lower their settings to below “High” while playing Team Fortress 2.

You might also download the free Game Booster...do not update to the 'new' RAZOR Game Booster' which is not free. This turns off unnecessary background programs while you are playing, and turns them back on when you quit the game. http://download.cnet.com/Game-Booster/3000-18512_4-11677455.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/13/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
corky26
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/12/2013

It sounds like its worth a shot - thanks, i'll let you know how it turns out.

 01/16/2013 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
corky26
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/12/2013

Stumped - the suggestion has been helpful.  Thanks for the assistance.

Actually the software I've been using is a free version of "TuneUp Utilities," but I'm going to uninstall it and try the one you recommended.

You're right about the game just being clunky anyway, but its somewhat playable.  Thank you.

Statistics
85471 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.