Topic Title: Radeon HD 7950 Fan Spins Up With Monitor Off
Topic Summary: Very annoying, potentially causing crashes
Created On: 01/16/2013 02:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/16/2013 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freeAgent
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/16/2013

Many people, myself included, are having issues with their Radeon HD 7950 cards (and others I think) where the fan will spin up to 100% every few seconds while the monitor is in standby.  See this Youtube video of the issue:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWYyfqvKcjI&feature=youtu.be

 

It has now been more than a year since these cards were released, but AMD has not resolved the problem.  Are there any plans to do so?  I experience the problem on Windows 8 64-bit.

 01/16/2013 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

The cooling solution is usually made by the manufacturer, AMD provides the GPU only. I suggest you contact the manufacturer and ask them what's up. They may have a solution like a BIOS update or something.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/16/2013 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freeAgent
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/16/2013

I believe the HIS card is a reference design, but in any case this issue has been reported across different brands.  See: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/349900-33-7950-spins-idle

 01/16/2013 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you contact HIS Support directly.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/16/2013 04:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12229
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like an issue with Zero Core. What does HIS say?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/19/2013 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freeAgent
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/16/2013

Actually, it looks like AMD may have finally fixed this in the most recent drivers (13.1)

Statistics
84245 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.