Topic Title: Eyefinity on new (to me) MSI Frozr ii 6950 coming from saphire 5950
Topic Summary: revised questions - Would I be able to use a DP to Mini-DP adaptor and use it with my DP to DVI Active dongle?
Created On: 01/20/2013 10:58 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/20/2013 10:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
urbang33k
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/20/2013

Then....

 

Old card is a Saphire 5850 with 2 x dvi's, 1 HDMI, and 1 full size display port.

I have a three monitor setup.  They are all DVI monitors.  I had all three connected to the Saphire card by using the 2 DVIs and an ACTIVE DP to DVI adapter (Wieson).    It worked fine.  The only notable odd behavior with that setup was that the monitor on the Active DP dongle was not viewable until windows started.   Fine for me as I didn't need to see my BIOS post on all 3 monitors.

 

Now.....

I picked up an MSI 6950 Frozr II 2 GB GDDR5 card for cheap from a friend.

It has 2 DVI and 2 mini-DP and 1 HDMI port.

I understand that it would be ideal to be using DP connected monitors but I dont have the money to go down that road yet so my DVI monitors will have to do.

Will this card support me getting a DVI to HDMI adaptor for the third monitor and not running the ACTIVE DP dongle?     according to this post, I guess the answer is No http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=163326&enterthread=y

Would I be able to use a DP to Mini-DP adaptor and use it with my DP to DVI Active dongle?



Edited: 01/20/2013 at 11:29 AM by urbang33k
 01/20/2013 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

I've got a virtual that says everything will work with the active adapter, just as with your old vidcard.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/20/2013 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
urbang33k
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/20/2013

 

 

it worked

Statistics
80912 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.