Topic Title: Strange artifacts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/26/2013 10:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/26/2013 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirspikey
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

I've just got a 6950 card and it worked fine on my friends computer but on mine I get strange effects in games and google chrome, check links.
What is the problem?
Got win 7, all updated and all drivers frameworks etc...

http://s14.postimage.org/v12n2nc8x/artifacts2.png

edit::

maybe I should add my specs:
Amd Phenom II X3 720 2,8
4GB ram

Win 7 64Bit 

Radeon 6970 2GB



Edited: 01/27/2013 at 04:45 PM by sirspikey
 01/26/2013 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I don't think you realize that you're the only one who has access to those pictures. Facebook isn't meant for image sharing.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/27/2013 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirspikey
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

I don't think you realize that the pics were set to public, though for some reason facebook removed the ingame pic?!?!
Anyhow i uploaded it  on an other site.

 01/28/2013 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

Need more and specific input spikey

What Mobo?

What PSU?

Previous vidcard, did you uninstall it and clean out it's drivers?

Other games doing something similar?

 



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/28/2013 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirspikey
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

The mb is an ASUS M3A770DE
and the PSU is at 650W

and yes it simillar in other games to, but nut as much as in tochlight. In others it is just a quick blink every other minute or so.
Though in Miasmata, instead of these 'beams' I get big white blobs blinking. The strange thing about the blobs is they are perfectly round and the edges have a fade to them almost embossed 
Though they are happening so fast so can't take any screenshot. 

Edit. and yes I used driversweeper to remove everything after unistall. Also I'm using the DVI to HDMI cable (because I haven't found my hdmi to hdmi...) 

 01/28/2013 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

These artifacts indicate a typical VRAM issue. Too much OC, overheating and/or faulty RAM chip are the most common reasons.

Unfortunately you cannot check VRAM temps, but you can check the cooling, clean it, try higher fan speeds etc. See if any of these help.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/29/2013 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirspikey
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

ok, is there a way to test and see if it is the vram?
The guy who had it befored had flashed one of the bios (there are 2 on the card) to a 6970, but it worked on his computer before we put it in mine. And now I'm using the not flashed bios, ofcourse the dmg could be done allready.
The temp of the card is between 50 and 70 degrees Celsius, when these artifacts occures.

But can the ram on the MB be the problem?  

Is there any test where you can try to pinpoint from where the problem comes from?
The thing is I trusted the guy and have allready  paid him for the card so I need to know if the problem is mine or his

 01/29/2013 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Have you tried using the BIOS that worked for him, or not ?

While the temps on the gpu are OK some cards don't cool the VRAM as well as they should, so when the card is hitting 70C, which is a bit high for a game like Torchlight 2 (unless your air temps are over, say 35C), the VRAM could be suffering.

System RAM would not be a likely cause of artifacts.

 01/29/2013 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

Aida64 will show all 3 gpu diode temps. There might even be a free "trial" version still. Don't know what would constitute a high temp on mem I/O though. While idling, all 3 are within 2c of each other. I'll watch this next game I play.

TBH, I shiver when I hear of flashed BIOSs especially ones like yours. i.e. 6950-6970.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/29/2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirspikey
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

I tried both bios with same results I even reFlushed the allready flushed one to make sure it was done properly. 
That particular flash seems to be a pretty common one, even if I'm not to fond off things like that.

Anyhow I will check that Aida64 and see what it gets me, also I will try to set the fan on max, so far when I've been playing it has never gone over 50% speed

 01/30/2013 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

I played some Skyrim and the mem i/o temp stays very close to the gpu temp. The shader is about 5c less on this vidcard. YMMV.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

Statistics
88867 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.