Topic Title: Card not detected
Topic Summary: The new gpu I just bought doesn't show up in the BIOS or in the device manager
Created On: 02/07/2013 06:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/07/2013 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
johnyburd
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/07/2013

I am using Windows 8 32-bit.



-------------------------
Jonathan Buchanan
ATI 2GB PCI Express PCI-E x16 Graphics VGA card
3.4Gz Intel Pentium D CPU
2 GB RAM
 02/08/2013 08:06 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 995
Joined: 11/22/2010

Thats just lovely how people don't read the stickies.. you are literally asking us the question: "if I connect one thing with another thing, they dont fit together, why is that?" Maybe in 10 000 years when evolution has made us all psychics with the ability to read eachothers mind, then giving the details wouldn't be required anymore.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/08/2013 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
johnyburd
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/07/2013

I'm sorry I didn't give you enough information.  What else do you need?



-------------------------
Jonathan Buchanan
ATI 2GB PCI Express PCI-E x16 Graphics VGA card
3.4Gz Intel Pentium D CPU
2 GB RAM
 02/08/2013 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 265
Joined: 09/16/2012

fallow this template http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 02/09/2013 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
johnyburd
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/07/2013

Graphics Card
ATI Radeon HD 5450

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
whatever the version was that came with the card.

Operating System
32 bit windows 8
also not recognized on Ubuntu (also 32-bit)

Issue Details
the card will not show up anyware

Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASRock CONROE1333-DVI/H R2

Power Supply

unknown

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Aoc monitor, Dell

vga, dvi



Applications and Games

windows 8 and ubuntu


CPU Details
Intel Pentium D dual core, 3.4GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version
2.0, possibly, not sure about this

System Memory Type & Amount

unknown

Additional Hardware
booted off an ide harddrive for windows 8 and a flash drive for ubuntu
1 case fan
Additional Details

the seller recomended flashing the bios



-------------------------
Jonathan Buchanan
ATI 2GB PCI Express PCI-E x16 Graphics VGA card
3.4Gz Intel Pentium D CPU
2 GB RAM

Edited: 02/09/2013 at 08:30 PM by johnyburd
 02/10/2013 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

That's a pretty old motherboard, with an old PCIe slot and onboard graphics.

There are a couple BIOS settings for graphics which you should check (see your manual), and it's definitely possible you'll need a BIOS update.  It's also possible that there is no update available, and that you won't be able to use a modern graphics card.

 

 02/10/2013 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

It may sound like a stupid question, but do you connect your monitor to the video card? Does it output anything, do you see a picture?

Note: i didn't check if you have an onboard IGP, so if not, forget my question.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84198 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.