Topic Title: Comp wont boot outside safe mode after installing AMD radeon 7770
Topic Summary: Booting problem
Created On: 02/10/2013 02:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/10/2013 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
akraft
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/10/2013

Hello, 
I just installed a amd radeon HD 7770 and new 550 watt antec power supply. Now my computer will not boot up unless i put it into safe mode. In safe mode it works normally but outside of that the computer pauses at "Welcome" 

My computer is a GT5449E, the only modificiatinons ive made is add all the memory i could and the modifications mentioned above. The computer was working fine before these instillations. I am currently running on windows 7. 

I have tried installing graphics drivers, but i can not do that in safe mode as it tells me the installation fails due to detection problems. 

When we installed the new products there was no power connected to the machine (all external wires disconnected). plugged in the graphics card with the 6 pin plug. Installed the graphics card in to the correct slot, and made sure everything was in order. We also vacummed out most of the dust before we installed it. 

I will admit i am not the most "tech savy" person but i was hoping that someone may know why my computer can only boot up in safe mode. 

Thank you. 

 02/11/2013 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

What did you have before the 7770?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/11/2013 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

He did say GT5449E which is.. http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/1009502/1009502sp2.shtml ..which didn't have anything before, intel gma.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
89092 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.