Topic Title: 5700 series - just updated - won't start on launch
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/17/2013 03:39 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/17/2013 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bojas
Peon

Note: I am not very tech savvy so bear with me:

Hi, I was trying to instal TERA online and could not get it to work, so I tried updating my graphics drivers. I have a ati radeon HD 5700 series, and I updated via the automatic updater. I got a blue screen and I think it never got to finish.

After the automatic reboot my resolution was changed to 800x600 and I am not able to get it back up higher than 1600x1200 which makes my screen look weird.

Also I got an error message that the driver was not working on boot, I tried to reinstall the driver but the automatic updater says that it is already up to date.

I get that somethings amiss with my graphics driver. I tried googling for help but all I get is a maze of graphic driver difficulties that are only loosely related to my problem.

Some information about my system:

Graphics Card

ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

I am not sure where to find this, I tried installing the latest. I bought the computer 2-3 years ago and I think it came with updated drivers. I have updated it about 2-3 times in this period.

Operating System

Windows Home Premium  7 64 bit with service pack 1 installed.

Motherboard or System Make & Model

I don't know, I have installed CPU-Z and on the mainboard page it says the following:

ASUSTeK Computer INC. P7P55-M

Power Supply

I don't know, and I don't  know where to find this.

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Samsung hdtv monitor  Syncmaster LD220HD, connections used are a HDMI cable and a standard power cable that got delivered with the TV.