Topic Title: i got the worst week of my life (fan hell)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/22/2013 12:12 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2013 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

Hello everybody,

 

i got the worst week of my life this week due to crashes.

my pc spec are;

-Intel Q6600@2.4 G0rev.

-ASUS P5KC MOTHERBOARD

-G-SKILL DDR3 2X2 4GB

-SAPPHIRE HD6870 REF. GRAPHICS CARD

-TAGAN 500WATT PSU

 

My problem is not accurate everyday.

Sometime when i want to start my computer, i push the power button and boom.Graphics card's fan starts working at %100 and pc cant start properly(due to screen isnt working)

and i try 2 times or 3 times pc starts at the end.

 

but when im watching or playing a game,movie etc. IT STARTS GOING%100 AGAIN and it makes starts at no-sense moments, i mean im playing BF3 im in the chopper game is running thats ok. but when i pull the trigger , bum. pc gone again.

 

im using my backup graphics card;asus8800gs and i can run the pc everytime properly no problem. (in bf i just got one crash but it was bluescreen not like 6870's NOTHING SCREEN)

 

my cards warranty passed WHAT CAN I DO ? 

 

HELP ME PLEASE 

THANK YOU..

 02/22/2013 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
csas25
Nerfed

Posts: 72
Joined: 11/01/2012

Most likely it's the psu, try to play it with a better brand psu like Seasonic,Corsair,Enermax,Antec and so on

 02/22/2013 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 998
Joined: 11/22/2010

Yeah.. get a better psu, preferrably something from Corsair or Seasonic, within 550-650w range and the problems should magically disappear. I have actually owned a PC before with a crap 500w psu that had a 8800 inside, worked perfectly, the moment I gave it a 6870, the psu lasted 2 months and died. Also overclock that q6600 G0 to 3ghz.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/22/2013 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

But tagan is a good brand for psu.. ?f my problem is due to psu of course i can buy 1000w corsair etc but first i want to know which is the problem maker because i cannot afford if its 6870 to buy psu and another graphics card. ?ts wasting money for me :/

 

do you have any idea to check if theres any problem with 6870s components.because pc is running normally when 8800 in action

 02/22/2013 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

Sounds like a defective graphics card to me.

 

 02/22/2013 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

Tagan is garbage made by 4 OEMs who are themselves garbage (Topower, Impervio, Solytech, and Enhance), and no you don't need a 1000w PSU, 500-550w would be ideal for that setup as zipsi said. A SeaSonic or Enermax made 550w unit is very innexpensive (SeaSonic, Corsair, Enermax, PC Power & Cooling, Sapphire). A 6870 has a TDP of 151w, an 8800GS has a TDP of 105w, quite a bit less. So it sounds like that PSU killed it, though you need to get one of the ones mentioned before you can rule out a dead card.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/22/2013 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

But theres the fact that ive been using this computer for 3 years(other components 6-7) why now?

 02/22/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Last I heard Tagan power supplies were fairly decent, but it's been a while since I looked into that.  Anyway... the peak output of a power supply often degrades over time.  If it was just good enough when the machine was new, but just barely, then it can start to cause problems when the system gets a few years on it.

Check your voltages with some kind of monitoring software.  If they're wiggy, then start shopping for another power supply.  Otherwise, get yourself a new video card.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/23/2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

i tried my 6870 in my friend's pc and the problem was caused by 6870. when we start his pc it started normal.. it was going good ok. but then we tried to open bf3 we waited waited waited and pc shut off.and it didn't start again :s until we take 6870 out of case. we put his card and pc runned normal again.

 

so it's not psu i think. i wish it was... can't i do anything now?

 02/23/2013 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it's out of warranty there's nothing you can do other than complain to ASUS, which most likely won't result in anything.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/23/2013 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

turns out that there is a turbo-normal button at the back of the PSU and its switched to Turbo. Now i took it to normal level and i will try if its going to work.(i didnt know that, how can it take itself to turbo? or was it always like that=( )

 02/23/2013 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

i was happy to find out something new but it didnt work on games... started bf3 and bum.. (in 1min i think)

desktop values of pc (not-ingame)

[url=http://bit.ly/c25MCx][/url]

 02/23/2013 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

Did I see the +12v line running at 8v? That's your problem. I'm surprised you can even boot with that.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/23/2013 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

What? what is that ? tell me pls if it's the thing ill be superhappy

 02/23/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

See on there where it says Voltages and under it it says +12v value of 8.866v? All your internal components run off of 12v these days, and anything below about 11.8v is BAD. Only way to fix it is to buy a new power supply, preferably from the brands mentioned.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/23/2013 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

hmm others are below the line too ? (and im thinking about turbo thing.. i switched to normal.maybe thats the reason)

 02/23/2013 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 323
Joined: 11/27/2012

Originally posted by: alioreh ......maybe thats the reason)

 

Ummm.....  NO!  As stated numerous times already... that is a serious power supply issue.  If you do not take care of it soon hardware will start dying

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 02/23/2013 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alioreh
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/22/2013

Thx for all answers ill go buy a new psu i think. Replies were very helpfull thanks again. 

 

Though im thinking 'why' when i put this card to my friends pc it shut that pc too:/

 02/23/2013 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 323
Joined: 11/27/2012

What is his PSU?

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 02/23/2013 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

It is also quite possible you damaged the card irreparably already as well, but you still need a new power supply.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84247 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.