Topic Title: HD 7850 can't handle shaders?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/28/2013 02:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2013 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ArousedKhajiit
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/28/2013

Hey everyone,

I purchased a computer package with a HD 7850 installed and I thought it would handle the games I wanted to play on max settings with no problem but apparently not. Whenever I up the shader quality on a game, even one as old as Company of Heroes, the frames will be shockingly slow. This also applies to Starcraft II. Yet I can't understand why a game as neat looking as The Old Republic runs smooth as butter a lot of the time.

I can turn pretty much all other settings up to max but shaders pretty much kill it. Does anybody know why or have a solution?

 03/28/2013 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ArousedKhajiit
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/28/2013

Shaders on on medium by the way, not low or disabled.

 03/28/2013 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".

We need to know:

1. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, etc)
2. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
3. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
4. Power Supply..list make and model (not just wattage)
5. RAM
6. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?

If this is a LAPTOP please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/28/2013 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ArousedKhajiit
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/28/2013

It isn't a laptop. A card the size of the 7850 couldn't possibly fit into a laptop.

The card is a HD7850.

OS is Win8.

8GBs RAM.

The driver version says 9.012-121219a-152192C-ATI.

I don't know the PSU brand but its 500W.

 03/28/2013 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12458
Joined: 04/17/2008

Much depends on your CPU and clock speed, as well as the resolution you are playing at.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/29/2013 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ArousedKhajiit
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/28/2013

Well the games themselves say that the shader settings are dependant on the graphics card alone so that's why I'm boiling it down to that.

 03/29/2013 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: ArousedKhajiit It isn't a laptop. A card the size of the 7850 couldn't possibly fit into a laptop.

 The driver version says 9.012-121219a-152192C-ATI.

I don't know the PSU brand but its 500W.

Driver version..13.1, 12.8, 10.2, 11.1...get it? Power supply..make and model, Not wattage. Your PS meets the minimum requirements for that card...My post is a standard reply to posters who can't read the great big sticky "PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING". Turn your shaders down. Here is a explanation > http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/star-wars-gaming-tests-review,3087-2.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 03/29/2013 at 10:21 AM by stumped
 03/29/2013 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: ArousedKhajiit Well the games themselves say that the shader settings are dependant on the graphics card alone so that's why I'm boiling it down to that.

 

 

Answer the questions you've been asked. Either fill out the sticky.(which would keep us from asking questions) Or answer the questions. You are still missing *name the games* + CPU + what resolution you play at.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
85329 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.