Topic Title: In desperate need of help.
Topic Summary: Graphics problems.
Created On: 03/29/2013 03:27 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/29/2013 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taxino
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/29/2013

I know alot of people have problems with running BF3, but mine was running fine and I just recently started having this problem, Everytime i play it now my display driver keeps crashing, i thought it was just that game to start with, but now it has transfered over to Guildwars 2 as well.

I've tried to google it and all anyone recommends is to update drivers, which i did to no avail.

I don't really know that much about Computers either, so any bios stuff just goes over my head. Please help.

 



-------------------------

AMD PHENOM II X6 SIX CORE 1090T 3.20GHz----HIS HD 6970 2GB----16GB DDR3 Ram----WIDETECH 750W PSU----MSI 870A FUSZION AMD RX780/AM3/ATX----WIN 7 HOME.


 


 


 


 


 


 

 03/29/2013 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Lets see, cheap no name 750W PSU that claims 80% but isn't certified. It doesn't list its specifications on the website.

I bet that PSU is most likely a 400W PSU masquarding as a 750W unit. Which means well underpowered and doesn't meet the amd specifictions for that card.

Hence why you need to read the big sticky at the top of the page. If you don't know anything you need to pull the side of the case off that computer and a take a photo of the sticker on your PSU. And post it.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/29/2013 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12546
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it just popped up out of the blue and only under 3D load, the first suspect would be the PSU. If that is the same Widetec POS I saw Here, it has 2x 12v rails at 21A peak each, which is most likely only a 500w unit. Get a good quality SeaSonic or Enermax made unit (includes Corsair, Sapphire, and PC P&C) at 550w and I bet your problem will disappear.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/30/2013 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taxino
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/29/2013

Ok, thanks for the help guys, Yeah pretty sure thats my PSU.
Would have thought they would have put a decent one in, since it was meant to be a gaming rig and all. Will look into getting a new Top quality one and see if i can get back to dying on BF3



-------------------------

AMD PHENOM II X6 SIX CORE 1090T 3.20GHz----HIS HD 6970 2GB----16GB DDR3 Ram----WIDETECH 750W PSU----MSI 870A FUSZION AMD RX780/AM3/ATX----WIN 7 HOME.


 


 


 


 


 


 

 03/30/2013 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12546
Joined: 04/17/2008

That's like saying "I loaned my family my car to go on a trip with, and I thought that they would use the premium gas" Power supplies, memory, and motherboard are three easy places for people to cut money and quality corners on.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/30/2013 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taxino
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/29/2013

yeah i guess lol, hopefully my RAM & MOBO aren't completely usless too then.

MSI 870A Fuszion AMDRX780/AM3/ATX

Hmm...thinking RAM might be generic too, since all it says is
16gb DDR3 Ram (64-bit OS only) No brand or anything.



-------------------------

AMD PHENOM II X6 SIX CORE 1090T 3.20GHz----HIS HD 6970 2GB----16GB DDR3 Ram----WIDETECH 750W PSU----MSI 870A FUSZION AMD RX780/AM3/ATX----WIN 7 HOME.


 


 


 


 


 


 

Statistics
85729 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.