Topic Title: HD7870 not detected in new build
Topic Summary: My first build, any help appreciated.
Created On: 03/31/2013 12:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/31/2013 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
decepticron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/31/2013

 

Graphics Card

Gigabyte Radeon HD 7870 2G GV-R787OC-2GD


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

CCC will not install. OC Guru will not open.

Operating System

Windows 8 64bit (OEM)

Issue Details

GPU not detected by either the mobo or the OS, I am not sure. I have updated all drivers for the BIOS, mobo, GPU, OS, and all other hardware on my build. I have tried installing the GPU in all available PCI slots. I have disabled the integrated graphics in the BIOS, tried setting PCI rom to legacy mode, set priority to PCI after post. I've also tested every output from the card (HDMI, VGA, DVI).

Motherboard or System Make & Model

Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H

Power Supply

Sasonic M12 Bronze 620w.

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Asus VE258Q

Applications and Games

N/A

CPU Details

Intel i5 3570k


System Memory Type & Amount

1x4g Corsair XMS3

 

 



Edited: 04/01/2013 at 12:16 PM by decepticron
 04/01/2013 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
decepticron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/31/2013

Does anyone have any insight? Is there at least a way I can definitively tell if my card is dead?

 04/01/2013 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Yea take it back to the store where you bought it from. That board should have no issue's. (I have the exact same one with an I5 3570K).



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 04/01/2013 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Same board here, should start a club.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 04/02/2013 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Yea same board here too.... oh wait it doesn't, mine doesnt have the letter U.

Anyway, my suggestion is same with vantharas take it back.

If you have any spare card, use it and see if it will be detected by the board or not.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 04/02/2013 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
decepticron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/31/2013

Just got back from Fry's with a new GPU (same model), and the verdict is...

 

...yeah the first one was just DOA. Everything works great now, thanks for the advice! This was my first build and I was sure I had done something wrong.

Statistics
85343 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.