Topic Title: HDMI audio not working
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/03/2013 10:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/03/2013 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liammkelly
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/03/2013

Hi all, I have purchased a new machine with an AMD Radeon HD 6410D graphics controller.  Using a DVI-to-HDMI cable I cannot get audio to my HDTV, only video.  Shouldn't I be able to get audio with this setup?

Thanks!

Liam

 04/03/2013 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 331
Joined: 11/27/2012

there is no aduio capabilities in a DVI cable...  not sure why people think this

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 04/03/2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liammkelly
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/03/2013

Not true.  I used the same cable with a different machine that had an Intel GMA X4500 graphics controller and got both audio and video through the DVI port.

 04/05/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kooma2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2013

Same problem here. Switched from a working nVidia DVI setup to a Radeon HD 7870. It tells me that the device/cable/adapter does not support audio, just like you say in the first post. A little googleing revealed that the only way to "fix" this problem is to buy an AMD adapter. The only extra thing it adds is that it signals the gfx card that it is a valid adapter. Product lock-in for extra income instead of user friendliness...

 04/05/2013 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kooma2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2013

PS: The linux drivers will let you push sound through the same setup, so it's definitly the CCC or driver that is the limit.

 04/05/2013 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Audio through a DVI cable is a vendor-specific extension.  It's not going to work across the board.

As far as I'm aware, it wasn't until HDMI came around that this ever started happening.  HDMI does carry both audio and video, but there's no extra pins added to allow for the audio.  In fact, HDMI uses the same TMDS signal as DVI does.  It didn't take long for vendors to start interleaving a separate audio stream into the HDMI signal, and that lead to these adapters which just end up confusing the hell out of people.

You should be surprised that it ever worked in the first place. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 04/05/2013 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3512
Joined: 03/01/2009

Yea DVI with audio is vendor support only. It is in no way a standard. Certain AMD Videocards in the past had Audio through DVI avaible. However its not the case anymore as HDMI has pretty much become the standard across the board for video / audio. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 04/05/2013 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kooma2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2013

Well, I think that is no longer true for the later standards of DVI and HDMI, but anyways: I fixed my problem with the following workaround. I added another adaptor. Previously I had a DVI to HDMI cable in the DVI slot on the GFX card wich "did not support audio". Now I have an HDMI to DVI adapter in the HDMI slot, and then the same DVI-to-HDMI cable as previously connected to that one (I had a spare adapter laying around). Now that is HDMI-DVI-HDMI, and it works like a charm. The only problem is that the DVI slot on the card is now blocked by the large adapter in the HDMI slot, so I cannot run dual monitors- This means I have to re-cable everytime I want to switch between the PC monitor and the TV, but at least the TV has sound now.

 04/05/2013 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kooma2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2013

Originally posted by: Kooma2 PS: The linux drivers will let you push sound through the same setup, so it's definitly the CCC or driver that is the limit.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=punAgaQcBN4

 

 04/05/2013 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

The standards haven't changed.  People are just breaking them more often now that there's so many HDMI devices around.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Statistics
86653 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.