Topic Title: [new information added]7970 isn't working at boot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/04/2013 11:29 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/04/2013 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Asus HD7970 DirectCUII

No drivers installed yet, can't even get into operating system

Dual boot Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu 12.04

Issue Details - Just put the card in last night. Card turns on and fans run, but the motherboard switches to onboard video. If i disable onboard video I get nothing and have to reset cmos to get onboard back or put my old geforce back in to get display


Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Asus M4A785TD-V EVO - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M4A785TDV_EVO/

Power Supply - Corsair TX850M - 
http://www.corsair.com/enthusiast-series-modular-tx850m-80-plus-bronze-certified-850-watt-high-performance-modular-power-supply.html

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Samsung  SyncMaster T220
- Acer AL2223W

CPU Details
AMD Phenom II x4 965

Motherboard BIOS Version
-2105

System Memory Type & Amount
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600

Additional Hardware
- 240GB HyperX 3K SSD

Additional Details
Right from the start I get no video from the card. I saw the card working in the guy's computer that I bought it from, and my Geforce works like usual in mine.



Edited: 04/04/2013 at 05:06 PM by Nevune
 04/04/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Just had a new development to share. I decided to try the 7970 with other motherboards. Asus F2A55-M LE and Asus M5A7 R2.0

In the  M5A7 R2.0 I get the beep code for no video card, just like with the M4A785TD-V, but in the F2A55-M LE the 7970 works. All 3 were run with the same power supply with all other peripherals disconnected.

Any Idea why this card is only working in 1 of 3 motherboards? I just happens to be working in the one motherboard that I don't want to use.

 04/20/2013 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I'm still having this problem, my card works in the F2A55-M LE but beeps bad video card in my M4A785TD-V EVO. I've found lots of information of other people having similar issues, but have found no information of the cause of this issue or a solution.

Does anyone from AMD read these forums? Does anybody have an idea as to what's going on here? This was an expensive card and I'd really like to use it.

 04/20/2013 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

Does anyone from AMD read these forums?


USER to USER forum, you saw that when you registered. If it doesn't even POST then it is not an AMD problem but a hardware incompatibility, and you need to talk to ASUS about it.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/20/2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

It doesn't matter what type of forum it is, if AMD wants no hand in it then they shouldn't have it. There are many other "USER to USER" forums that offer more useful information than what you just provided.

Now, as far as my issue goes, this issue is happening with more than just "ASUS" cards. It's happening with many other brands of 7970. It also happens with other brands of motherboard. So it's not an Asus specific problem. It's a 7970 problem. That makes an AMD forum a logical place to search for an answer.

Anyway, I see that this forum is a barren lost cause anyway. I'll move along to a more populated and helpful forum.

In the future, don't post if you have nothing helpful to say about the topic at hand just to buffer yourself up to 9638 posts on a dead board.

 04/21/2013 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7493
Joined: 11/13/2009

Most people are smart enough to use the issue report forms to contact AMD tech support and report their problems. Some even go so far as to use the search function in this gaming forum to look for similar posts and possible fixes all by themselves. But unfortunately, the bottom feeders are the ones who need things read to them, don't have the sense to know the difference between a GAMING forum and technical support, and generally buy used equipment that they 'saw working'. Oh...and have unbutu.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 04/21/2013 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Yeah thanks again, not only did i use the search function, i've also spent TWO weeks scouring google and can find tonnes of people with this exact issue but not a single one with a resolution.

Most people are smart enought to not assume that because somebody posts to a forum, they're a "bottom feeder" it's the only thing they've done and they've just sat around on their ass otherwise waiting for people to solve the issue for them. Not only that, but I've entered support requests with AMD with no resolution so far and on thursday I entered one with Asus, and still waiting for them. I simply thought that this community

So smart guy, if you've somehow found a resolution with this forum's search function, that I've managed to apparently "not be able to read", feel free to share it. Not only did i get a great deal on this 2 month old card and "see" it working, if you used your brain and read, you'd see that I have it working in multiple other machines but it wont work in my gaming rig.

Funny how it's always the idiots that don't have a brain to think with that claim that others arent using theirs.

 04/21/2013 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Just RMA it and get a different one. This is the typical issue that cannot fixed at home using a soldering iron or anything.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/24/2013 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I actually got it working today, no idea what the deal is. But I went out and bought another motherboard and an I5-3570K and I had the same issue. The 7970 wouldn't work, but a single 5850 did and Crossfire 5850s did.

At a loss for anything else to try and with computer parts scattered all over the house I inserted the card into PCIEX16 Slot #2 and like magic it fired up. No idea why it won't work in slot one, but all my other cards do. Anyway I don't really care, it's working now, and with the card in slot 2 it isn't blocking the PCI and PCIEX1 slot that it was blocking in slot one.

Just finishing reinstalling windows since it didn't want to boot with the new mobo(linux did). Then I'll run some benchmarks and see where this baby's at.

Statistics
87673 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.