Topic Title: PowerColor AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Topic Summary: Poor performance when gaming only; Everything else runs fine!
Created On: 04/12/2013 04:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2013 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

Video Card: PowerColor AX7850 2GBD5-DH Radeon HD 7850 2GB **BRAND NEW**
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I had a AMD Radeon 6850 video card that died on my. The manufactor replaced it with a AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB card just yesterday(link provided above). I uninstalled ALL AMD drivers with Catalyst Control Manager.

Restarted my PC.

Then I went to the AMD website and got the updatedriver
URL: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/rad...
- I selected: Catalyst Software Suite 146.5 MB 13.1 1/17/2013. Once that installed was complete, i rebooted my PC again.

Once rebooted, I went into my video game: Starcraft II and Diablo III and they had terrible performance. Just opening the game and begin playing the game, it had TERRIBLE TERRIBLE downgraded performance and once or twice the games had to be closed.

I had used only single monitor only -- did VGA connect, VGA to DVI connect, and HDMI to my TV connect (all 3 still showed same issue)

What I then did was go directly to the Latest BETA driver: Latest Beta Driver 187 MB 13.3 Beta 3/19/2013 from AMD's website and downloaded that, rebooted PC and still downgraded performance when playing those two games.

I had used only single monitor only -- did VGA connect, VGA to DVI connect, and HDMI to my TV connect (all 3 still showed same issue)

Videos run fine, youtubes run fine and still having issues. I am having some serious kick back with the manufactor, terrible customer service experience and I would LOVE to get this resolved on my end before being forced to go through the manufactor to get this resolved.

SOMETHING TO TRY?
- http://www.techspot.com/downloads/4266-driver-sweeper.h...
1. I am going to try this to make sure no other drivers are still present even though I uninstalled via catalyst control center?

- WHAT ELSE!

In advance, thank you VERY VERY VERY MUCH! And anything else, please let me know! I worked on this from 7pm to 4am this morning...LOL

So i Reformatted my entire PC -- update the drivers for the video card + ASrock drivers via the CD it came with.

Downloaded Starcraft II, windowed mode -- problem still persitted and showed GPU Core Clock and Memory Clock spiking to 1200MHz

AMD video card was the 13.1 t updated to -- downloaded the detect my video card utility from AMD it it told download that same driver I've downloaded previously.

just downloaded Age of Empire III, took 5 minutes to open from putting the CD in which is an offline game also. Adding more information into the mix incase anyone else has came across this issue. Any information is greatly appreciated.

 04/12/2013 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

MY PC: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227408

Graphics Card
PowerColor AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.1 currently

(tested with the Beta Drivers also)

Operating System
Windows 7 64-bit; Service Pack 1


Issue Details
Poor performance issues when running SC2: HOTS, Diablo III, Age of Empires III (gave up testing at this point)

GPU Core Clock & Memory Clock spike to Max Performance (860 MHz / 1200 MHz)

reformatted my PC and installed new drivers + AMD 13.1 drivers (still issues happened)


Motherboard or System Make & Model
http://www.asrock.com/mb/NVIDIA/N68-S3%20FX/

ASROCK N68-VS3 FX


Power Supply
600 W (doesnt specify at ALL what it is on New Egg & looking in my tower...)


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
VGA to DVI (monitor) // HDMI (TV)


Applications and Games
Starcraft II

Diablo III

Age of Empires III


CPU Details

CPU Type
AMD FX-Series
CPU Speed
FX-8120(3.1GHz)
L2 Cache Per CPU
8MB
L3 Cache Per CPU
8MB
CPU Socket Type
AM3+
CPU Main Features
64 bit Eight-Core Processor

(NO OVERCLOCKING DONE -- ALL SET TO DEFAULT)


Motherboard BIOS Version
N68 V53 FX P.1.80


System Memory Type & Amount
8GB DDR3 1333

Additional Hardware
FAN WAS UPDATED TO A: AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB (original fan burnt out after 5 months...) They didnt have any more in warehouse, free upgrade

Additional Details
reformatted PC -- updated all drives // windows mode on game (not fullscreen or windowed fullscreen) -- lowered settings to the LOWEST. Stil issues

 

GPU Core Clock and Memory clock constantly keep spiking up to max performance during games....

 04/16/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

Anyone?

 04/16/2013 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7041
Joined: 11/13/2009

Make sure you have gone to Windows update and are fully updated. Read this and check your netframeworks version > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/17/2013 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

Thanks for your reply stumped! Yes I download all windows updates, no more were avail and have service pack 1

 04/22/2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

any other ideas??

 04/22/2013 11:16 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 995
Joined: 11/22/2010

Giving PSU details would still help to determine the cause to this issue. If you don't know the model, take off your side panel (when pc is off) and take a photo of its specs.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 04/22/2013 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

You never mentioned what you mean by poor performance.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/24/2013 11:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

Zipsi: URL: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227408

Power Supply
600W

Then when I look @ the power supply, it is blank, nothing on it -- just really generic looking from Ibuypower. No information is placed on any of the sides of the PSU.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eydee

Poor performance = all games lock up. no blue screens of death -- just lock up, the start playing with between 1-2 FPS like I have a garbage computer that cant handle playing  a video game. Hope this clarified but if you need anything else, let me know.

 04/24/2013 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Gunnydelight

 

Eydee

 

Poor performance = all games lock up. no blue screens of death -- just lock up, the start playing with between 1-2 FPS like I have a garbage computer that cant handle playing  a video game. Hope this clarified but if you need anything else, let me know.

 

You should run some monitoring applications in the background. Temperatures, CPU usage, GPU usage, voltages, HDD usage etc. After the issue happens, check the log of these applications. Once you find something (like high CPU usage), next step is finding out what causes it. It can be a lot of things from AV software to hardware interrupts.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/16/2013 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gunnydelight
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2013

Thanks. IBuyPower is going to send me a new rebuild after five RMAs for the same issue...I am requesting to have my warranity extended verse suing under the Magnusson-Moss Warranty Act and requesting a full refund.

Statistics
84198 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.