Topic Title: Random Crashes
Topic Summary: amdkmdap stopped responding
Created On: 04/12/2013 10:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2013 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddietheparot
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2013


Graphics Card
- HIS AMD Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Current: 13.1, Previous: 12.10, 12.11b4, 12.11b11, 13.1b3
Operating System
- Windows Ultimate x64, also tried on Windows Home Pro x64
Issue Details
- When playing battlefield 3, firefox as well as bf3 would crash, firefox would give me an error message saying it crashed, and bf3 would give me a directx error. I'm playing everything on low or off settings.
- I will post a picture next time this happens.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
-
GA-990fxa-ud3 rev 1.1 (http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3996#ov)






Power Supply

- 630 wat PSU

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- I dont know the display's model number, but its a Dell 23" (i think?) and i'm using a DVI cable, but it also happens while using an HDMI cable.

Applications and Games

- I only play battlefield 3 for extended periods of time, and this is the only game (so far) that has had problems. I will try out ARMA3 and maybe some BFBC2. I'm using the latest version of battlefield 3 available through Origin.

CPU Details
-AMD fx-8120 OC to 4.1ghz
-Overclocked to 4.1ghz, only the multiplyer is increased to 21.5 or 21 (one of the two) the motherboard handles everything else.

Motherboard BIOS Version
-Latest stable version: f9, but I've also tried with f10a (latest beta)

System Memory Type & Amount
- 16GB

Additional Hardware
-1 SSD (boot, also handles BF3), 2 HDD (in raid0), DVD Drive, 4 case fans (2 in front, one rear and one on the top rear).

Additional Details
-Computer was wiped clean, both times when i started installing drivers. I used 64 bit versions of w7 ultimate and home pro.

-ive tried many versions of drivers (listed above), each time using driver sweeper, re-installed windows 2 times, re-downloaded bf3, re-installed bf3, re-installed netframework4, changed PCI-e slots.

-One thing to take note of, is that the GPU temp never went past 70c, recently I installed MSI afterburner because of the "user defined" fan speed configuration, and my temps have not reached above 60c when playing for 1 hour.

 04/12/2013 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

You might want to read a similar post > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=165295&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/12/2013 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddietheparot
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2013

Done, and done, thank you for the quick reply, going to test this out right now

 04/12/2013 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddietheparot
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2013

Happened again, it was interesting though, instead of all audio stopping at once, it was delayed. What i mean is... bf3 crashed, i saw a still image, but what was different is that the audio was still going on for a few seconds, and then it stopped, and crashed bf3 and some plugin for firefox that pandora uses.

 04/12/2013 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UrbanX
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/12/2013

Sorry to hijack this thread but creating a thread seems to be restricted to new users. No create thread button is showing up.

Anyways, I recently got my 1st AMD graphics card(Radeon HD 6670) and it seems to have trouble processing fast flickering map lighting. In rooms with flickering lights, I get a tearing effect on surfaces the light shines on. Before switching to an AMD I had an nVidia card which I've gotten no tearing with strobe like map lighting. Vsync on or off, this tearing occurs with the AMD. I have to say im not happy with the crude method AMD processes light data compared to nVidia.

 04/12/2013 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Have you tried the 13.3 beta 3 yet? http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/amdcatalyst13-3winbetadriver.aspx

If they don't help, then fill out a issue report and give them all the particulars. Keep in mind that it is a issue report and not the start of a two way dialoge with AMD support. With the info you have provided here, they should be able to reproduce it. http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3ECF



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/12/2013 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: UrbanX Sorry to hijack this thread but creating a thread seems to be restricted to new users. No create thread button is showing up.

Anyways, I recently got my 1st AMD graphics card(Radeon HD 6670) and it seems to have trouble processing fast flickering map lighting. In rooms with flickering lights, I get a tearing effect on surfaces the light shines on. Before switching to an AMD I had an nVidia card which I've gotten no tearing with strobe like map lighting. Vsync on or off, this tearing occurs with the AMD. I have to say im not happy with the crude method AMD processes light data compared to nVidia.

It's called 'new topic' and its at the top of the page. Your right about hijacking...you can delete this post ya know?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/12/2013 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddietheparot
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2013

Crashing has become even more sudden, 8:44 AMD GPU overdrive set as dissabled, 8:38 underclocked to 900hz, 8:35 everything stock except +20% power on power control settings.

 

Thats the error that firefox gives 0-0

 

Oh, and yes, 13.1b3 is listed on the driver list as the last one

It looks like I wont be able to play battlefield for a while untill i resolve this... Thank you for the suggestions

 04/13/2013 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UrbanX
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/12/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Have you tried the 13.3 beta 3 yet? http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/amdcatalyst13-3winbetadriver.aspx

 

If they don't help, then fill out a issue report and give them all the particulars. Keep in mind that it is a issue report and not the start of a two way dialoge with AMD support. With the info you have provided here, they should be able to reproduce it. http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3ECF

 

Problem with that is they seemed to of completely dropped driver support for winxp systems considering winxp is discluded from the system requirements in this beta. I have a feeling someone is going to respond telling me I should throw 100's of dollars I don't have on a newer OS.

It's called 'new topic' and its at the top of the page. Your right about hijacking...you can delete this post ya know?

I see it now. Navbar is an unusual place to put such a thing.

 

 04/13/2013 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: UrbanX
Originally posted by: stumped Have you tried the 13.3 beta 3 yet? http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/amdcatalyst13-3winbetadriver.aspx

 

If they don't help, then fill out a issue report and give them all the particulars. Keep in mind that it is a issue report and not the start of a two way dialoge with AMD support. With the info you have provided here, they should be able to reproduce it. http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3ECF

 

Problem with that is they seemed to of completely dropped driver support for winxp systems considering winxp is discluded from the system requirements in this beta. I have a feeling someone is going to respond telling me I should throw 100's of dollars I don't have on a newer OS.

It's called 'new topic' and its at the top of the page. Your right about hijacking...you can delete this post ya know?

I see it now. Navbar is an unusual place to put such a thing.

 

My reply was for the original poster...not you. Start your own thread in the extended support forum. That's for older operating systems and graphic cards.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85328 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.