Topic Title: Power Supply Unit Upgrade For 7790
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/18/2013 01:15 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/18/2013 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Veracity283
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/04/2013

So I apparently need a 500w psu to upgrade to a new 7790.  This is only one Dell has on offer that will work in my Dell 8300.  Can anyone confirm that this will work before I purchase everything needed to upgrade?  Thanks

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=A1311579

 04/18/2013 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1045
Joined: 11/22/2010

Get a 550-600w Corsair or Seasonic unit.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 04/18/2013 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Veracity283
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/04/2013

You need to buy from Dell if I want it to work/fit inside my case.  Was thinking about this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182263

but I contacted Dell and that behemoth (though quality behemoth) wouldnt fit inside my case and it has the wrong number of pins for the motherboard.  Dell machines are rather fincky I am finding (much to my dismay).

 04/18/2013 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

Aye, Dell does do crap like that, but before this they were rewiring the pins on the ATX receiver so you couldn't use a non Dell PSU. And they get away with it even though it is a tad illegal. However I don't think Dell was telling the truth (surprise!). That piece of ***** not even 80% efficient Dell garbage has

Dimensions (WxDxH) 5.9 in x 6.2 in x 3.3 in

Whereas a standard ATX power supply has

Dimensions (WxDxH) 6.3" x 5.9" x 3.4"

So look in the case now and see if you have 4/10 of an inch of width and 1/10 of an inch of height to play with, or take a small hammer and make room. Don't buy into Dell's garbage, as you could always buy a good $50 case.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/18/2013 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1191
Joined: 01/31/2010

I noticed the Corsair Carbide 300R was outright inexpensive and a very high quality design for a gamer.

Norticed around $85 of late.

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84950 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.