Topic Title: Faulty 7970?
Topic Summary: Getting issues with visuals, video and gaming
Created On: 04/24/2013 05:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/24/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samm_
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/19/2013

So, I have a Sapphire 7970 3gb ghz edition, my issue is, with some games i get like a flicker on the screen, sort of like an overlay but just once, as if one frame or a program popped up for a millisecond. Its hard to explain, its definetly not a screen flicker constantly. But it happens now and again and its rather annoying. Also while watching movies with VLC, HD or not, i get lag spikes, but the audio doesnt jitter along with it or go out of sync, never seen this before. Is this a codec issue or my card? 

Rest of system is:

Fatal1ty 990fx professional

FX8350 @stock with H40 corsair cooler

8GB corsair RAM

HX1050 80+gold PSU (Intend to add to my rig)

 04/24/2013 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

Have you tried the latest beta drivers? > http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/amd_catalyst_13_x_12_101_2_1_april_16_download.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/24/2013 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samm_
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/19/2013

I did that before, it made things worse D: I just installed 13.4 catalyst actually. I dont think its linked though. 

 04/24/2013 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

About the VLC issue, could be a codec.. But, I use VLC and didn't ever downloaded a codec pack in adition, so, reinstall VLC or just reinstall the codec pack you could have.

If you have a "program" poped up while gaming, then maybe its a process/software associated to a 3D enviroment, and at the moment you start a game then its shows up. Specially if it happens on any game. If not, then maybe its a problem from that game only..

You could also try Ctrl+Alt+Del/Task Manager, and in the Processes Tab see all the services/programs running while gaming. Then, go into the game and exit and see which ones ended too.. Maybe one of them is making you annoying..

 

Best regards...

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/24/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

There is also the 13.5beta > http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst13-5WINBetaDriver.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/24/2013 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samm_
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/19/2013

I think installing 64bit VLC solved it, for the game its league of legends, its probably a bug, just had a look on their forums and people with 7xxx series are having issues with the game since it was patched. I shall see how i get on for now. I'll try beta drivers but i had crashing and errors last time with some games. 

 04/25/2013 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samm_
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/19/2013

VLC still jitters, pretty sure its VLC itself, havent really noticed it with WMP. I ran PassMark Performance Test, GPU only, noticed 2d isnt really out performing the ati hd 5770, infact the 6970 was pretty bad to, 3D however pretty similar to gtx680. Strange. 

 04/25/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

Look on FileHippo for "K-Lite Mega Codec Pack", you can install it with or without Media Player Classic. It's a good way to make sure your codecs aren't broken and are up to date.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84705 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.