Topic Title: issues with radeon 7850
Topic Summary: boot sometimes, otherwise no post, now failed altogether
Created On: 04/26/2013 04:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/26/2013 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bimus
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/26/2013

 

card: xfx radeon 7850 ultra oc edition, model: fx-785a-zn

catalyst version: 13.1

os: windows 7 ultimate x64

 

i pulled my crossfire 5870's to install a single 7850 card. once the card was installed, my pc booted up as normal. everything worked great for about 2 days. went to turn it on one day and you could hear everything power up (fans, drives etc) but no post, no beeps, and pressing power on the front of my machine immediately turned it off. pressed power one more time and it booted up as normal and worked just fine. however, this need to power on/off two or more times became more frequent until of course it failed to boot altogether today. swapping out the 7850 for the crossfire 5870's and all works fine again.

i did, of course, try all the standard things like pulling and reseating the 7850, and checking all connections to the card, mobo, hdd's, fans etc.

i don't have another rig to test the 7850 in, so i'm wondering what my next step should be? is this a faulty card?

mobo: asus m3a79-t deluxe

psu(s): 2x antec 850w (cant remember model off-hand)

monitor: toshiba 55ht1u (hdmi connected)

cpu: amd phenom 9950 x4 @ 2.61 (stock no oc)

ram: 6gb generic ram (honestly dont recall)

hdd(s): 6x wd caviar black sata drives (4x 2tb, 2x 1tb)

optical drives: 1x bdr, 1x dvdr

additional cards (pci): none

 04/26/2013 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 282
Joined: 09/16/2012

I would RMA the card, it looks to be fried.

 

question;

Are you running two psu's in the same rig?

If so why?



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 04/26/2013 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bimus
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/26/2013

yes, 2 psu's in one machine. why? there's a thousand reasons. second psu takes load off the psu that powers the cpu. second psu allows certain hardware and accessories to run indepent of the computer being on. if you need an explanation of dual-psu setup, google it.

regardless, the card was faulty, it's been replaced and the new unit works great. this thread can be closed.

Statistics
86476 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.