Topic Title: Radeon HD7990 CFX
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/30/2013 10:35 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/30/2013 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 993
Joined: 01/31/2010

First off this card is so long I can only squeeze one into my mid-tower 300R chassis.

Being a 3 slot behemoth, I can run 2 of them, but where am I going to find enough PSU to run them?

Assuming I was rich enough for 1, fine, but I have 2 video cards and like the big performance boost

 



-------------------------

 04/30/2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

Easy http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194106

But I hope you are moving to a serious CPU like an Intel 3570K or better. Even then expect the driver support to be abysmal at best until a few iterations are released. 

And even then expect to see less then adaquate GPU scaling past 2 GPU's let alone games that will take advantage of them. 

I also Hope you are running at least 3 2500x1600 Screens to actually take advantage of all that GPU horsepower else you are going to run into a CPU bottleneck so large you'll ask yourself why bother. 

 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 05/01/2013 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 993
Joined: 01/31/2010

I am not a fan of multirail PSUs 

the best Corsair has right now is 100A with the AX1200i

my cheaper TX850V2 might be OK with one card, but I would have to back off on the overclocking

 



-------------------------

 05/01/2013 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

There's nothing wrong with enermax PSU's. There rails are properly marked with which rail powers what PCI-E which allows for easy load balancing . They also have top notch warrantys and customer service just like corsair. And if you read the reviews of there PSU's you would not be disappointed. 

A TX850 would easily power a 7990 overclocked or not. Without a single issue.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 05/02/2013 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 993
Joined: 01/31/2010

I agree my rig can  use 1 of the new HD 7990s however funding is a more refractory problem.

I bought the TX850 with an eye at the HD 6990 as the power pig and 70A can handle it easily.

 

 



-------------------------

Statistics
81042 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.