Topic Title: AMD Display Driver has stopped responding and has recovered
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/16/2013 02:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/16/2013 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mridulp
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/16/2013

Hi,

I upgraded my computer from a HIS Radeon 4890 to a HIS Radeon 7750. Unfortunately, the 7750 always has graphic glitches (occasional pixels even on desktop), and will generally stop and recover a few times even without any major workload. If I replace the 7750 with my 4890, there are absolutely no problems.

I asked this in the HIS forums and they said that so long as the glitches do not occur in safe mode, it's not a hardware problem.

I have been having this problem for a year or so. Please help me.

Specs:

HIS 7750 iCooler 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E DP/DVI/HDMI. Just stock use, no OC.

Catalyst Suite: 13.4 (but I've had the same problems for about a year now)

ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX/SB75. Bios cersion 3503

COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Bronze Certified

AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz AM3

2Gx3 OCZ Gold DD3 (6GB RAM)

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Samsung 40" TV connected via HDMI.

There are additionally 3 more case fans and 1 DVD writer attached.

 05/16/2013 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

I would disagree, and suggest it very well could be a defective video card.. given that your older HD4890 doesn't have this issue.  Even more so that corruption is happening on the desktop too, when the graphics card is under very minimal load.

Here is AMD's KB article to help you narrow down the root-cause:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-27116RadeonSeries-ATIKMDAGhasstoppedrespondingerrormessages.aspx

..,but I would suggest to get the product replaced with HIS under warranty (if still possible).

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 05/19/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDfan82
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/19/2013

I'm having the driver issue as well with a Gigabyte Radeon HD 7750, but it only seems to be on World of Warcraft. I didn't have any issues running it with my GeForce 9800GTX+, so if it was an issue with the program, why would I not have issues with my nVidia card? I had decided, when making a few upgrades, to try out a Radeon card for a change, as I've always been a fan of AMD stuff (hence the nickname) and the card performs great, but when it completely locks WoW and causes Flash on my browser on other screen to lock Chrome down almost every 10 minutes, I find the annoyance greatly outweighs the strengths of this card. Also, there is a HUGE list of very similar driver issues from the Radeon series posted on the Tom's Hardware forums, dating back 2-3 years.. Shouldn't there be a solution for this by now?



Edited: 05/19/2013 at 04:10 PM by AMDfan82
 05/19/2013 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfede
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/08/2013

same problem here with XFX HD 6670 2gb ddr3 :S

 05/19/2013 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDfan82
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/19/2013

I think Microsoft may be onto something. They put out a quick fix (Registry mod) that seems to have helped me so far. As they explained it, the GPU sometimes doesn't return instructions fast enough and when Windows doesn't receive them in the default 2 second timeframe, it dumps and reloads the driver, which causes said problem. If AMD would consider this and maybe implement it into the driver packs, there would be far fewer issues over this. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2665946

I've been testing this in a spot that causes me a lot of trouble. This afternoon, I was in a corner of the Bloodhilt fortress on Domination Point in World of Warcraft, and I got 3 driver crashes in a 5 minute timeframe.. I've been sitting here for nearly an hour total and no issues. I still got a crash on Warlord Bloodhilt, which is still too many for a new card... but it's an improvement over what it was.

 05/19/2013 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7218
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes...its called TDR...many many posts and solutions have been posted here. Here is how to do it (and 8 is a good number) > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=165295&highlight_key=y&keyword1=tdr

-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/17/2013 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mridulp
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/16/2013

Hi,

I have an update.

Thanks to Marc@AMD I went back to HIS and mentioned this issue again to them. They asked me to run some diagnostics and then told me to send the card back since it's under warranty.

Apparently it was a problem with the specific card itself because my replacement card works perfectly fine. Absolutely zero glitches on the desktop.

I would recommend that people with similar problems contact their hardware vendor & get support from them. It might just be a defective card.

Thanks.

 

Statistics
84866 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.