Topic Title: ASUS Radeon 7970 DC2
Topic Summary: Vertical lines and PC hang
Created On: 06/01/2013 10:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/01/2013 12:52 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12368
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like insufficient power to me. Get a quality power supply (SeaSonic or Enermax made), Silverstone isn't that great.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/01/2013 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

how can you tell it's the power supply? this particular Silverstone PSU has considerable number of decent reviews.thanks for the response.



-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z



Edited: 06/09/2013 at 02:30 AM by MWH
 06/01/2013 03:34 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12368
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because for that particular problem that is the prime suspect, secondary would be a faulty RAM chip.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/01/2013 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

if it's the RAM then the problem would've been in all games right? because i don't get this problem in every game, games such as batman arkham, crysis 3, farcry 3 and recently the adventures of van hellsing are the troubling ones.playing Trine 2, Rage, Diablo 3 and some other games i didn't have any issues.then again, if it's the PSU i woul've got the problem in all games in this case i assume?thanks again for your response.

-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z

 06/02/2013 12:08 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12368
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it is a RAM chip you usually get graphical artifacts or a BSOD indicating something like a page fault in non paged area. And not necessarily, if the card isn't being hammered as hard then it can run without errors. If you can find a friend's computer to try it it you can rule out a failing PSU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/02/2013 03:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

much appreciated black_zion. i will see about trying it on another PC, if i can find one.will update this post when done.regards,

-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z

 06/03/2013 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

hello guys, i hope someone can shed some light on the problem i'm having:

Graphics Card
- ASUS Radeon HD7970-DC2-3GD5
- No overclock

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- 13.6, same issue on earlier versions

Operating System
- Windows 7 Pro 64-bit Service Pack 1

Issue Details
a number of games when launched will produce one of the following symptoms either immidiately, after selecting new game or randomly during the game if successfuly started: Black screen only or Black screen with vertical lines. the sound sometimes keeps playing as if the game is continuing but the card is not displaying the graphics.alt+f4 or the windows key will not quite or minimize the game, and ctrl+alt+delete will cause the PC to freeze and then i have to manually reboot it.

Motherboard or System Make & Model

- ASUS Sabertooth Z77

Power Supply
- Silverstone ST75F-G Evolution
- http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=318&area=en

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Benq XL2720T 27"- DVI-D cable from my monitor to my graphic card

Applications and Games
- mostly games that pushes the card like Farcry 3, Crysis 3, Batman Arkham etc.
- with or without patches

CPU Details
- Intel Core-i7 3770K
- No overclocking

Motherboard BIOS Version
- ASUS BIOS 2003

System Memory Type & Amount
- OCZ DDR3 PC3-17000 / 2133 MHz / Gold XTE Edition / 8GB

Additional Hardware
- WD Caviar Black 2TB, 5 Noctua case fans, 2 optical drives installed, Creative Sound Blaster Z

Additional Details
- The system is clean of viruses, spyware, etc..
- The Hardware (CPU,RAM) is not faulty

thank you.



-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z



Edited: 06/09/2013 at 02:28 AM by MWH
 06/03/2013 03:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

why in God's name my post is being messed up? i deleted and reposted the original message multiple time to make it display properly but the format remain messed up!

edit: fixed using firefox. regards to black_zion for maintaining kind responses



-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z



Edited: 06/04/2013 at 06:50 AM by MWH
 06/03/2013 09:05 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12368
Joined: 04/17/2008

Crappy forum software.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/09/2013 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MWH
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/01/2013

*Update*

based on some users reports of similar experience i have de-clocked the card:

- Engine Clock from 925MHz to 900MHz

- Memory Clock from 1375MHz to 1200MHz

it seems only at these rates the card was able to maintain stability. since then i didn't experience any black or striped screens even on heavy load. if i increased these values the failure will regenerate at an early stage of a game.

i might go through tweaking the clocks incrementally to discover at what exact value the failure will regenerate.

my 2 main questions are:

- with these values, how much is the impact on performance?

- should i settle or this is not normal and i'm advised to RMA?

note that i did email ASUS regarding the black/striped screen and they advised me to uninstall some software (which i didn't have) otherwise to RMA the card, simple as that.

thanks,



-------------------------

Benq XL2720T 27" 1920 x 1080 (120 Hz)
Windows 7 Pro x64
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel Core-i7 3770K @ 4.2Ghz
ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II 3GB
OCZ Gold 8GB-DDR3 @ 2133Mhz
Silverstone ST75F-G Evo
Creative Sound Blaster Z



Edited: 06/09/2013 at 02:59 AM by MWH
 06/09/2013 11:21 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12368
Joined: 04/17/2008

- with these values, how much is the impact on performance?


Not TO terribly much, I would say at the absolute most 5FPS, nothing that would make or break playability.

- should i settle or this is not normal and i'm advised to RMA?


It's up to you. You could try upping the power slider in VECC and email ASUS back and ask if there is a BIOS update for your card (to fix an improper clock and voltage setting at the 3D speeds). You also need to find a friend's computer to test it in to rule out anything from your machine causing the issue at some point. A typical RMA turnaround time is over a week and costs at least $10 in postage, but if I ruled out anything else and had a spare card, I'd go ahead and RMA.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84882 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.