Topic Title: 32 bit graphics with XFX AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/12/2013 07:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/12/2013 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
digitalbaron
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/12/2013

Product info: XFX AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 DVIHDMIMini DisplayPort PCI-Express Graphics Card FX797ATDFC;FX-797A-TDFC

OS: Win 8 Pro (all OS updates applied)

I applied all of the latest drivers for this graphics card but am still getting low quality graphics -- almost looks like it is 32 bit.  I could not see 64 bit as an option on any of the quality settings in the "AMD VISION Engine Control Center" program.

When I boot my system, I notice a green screen with the motherboard logo and a tinted green screen with the Windows 8 logo after.

I am curious if anyone has suggestions for how I can troubleshoot this?

Other system specs are:

- ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gbs USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

- AMD FX-8350 FX-Series Eight-Core Processor Edition, Black AM3+ FD8350FRHKBOX

 06/12/2013 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7228
Joined: 11/13/2009

I don't have any 64bit options either, never have. I guess that's a 79xx thing. What is your power supply and what card did you replace?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/12/2013 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
digitalbaron
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/12/2013

SolidGear 850W Power Supply

This is a new build.  I just wiped the drive to start fresh.  Installed Win 7 Pro and this time I just installed the drivers from the motherboard CD.  There is a chipset driver that seemed to pick up on some of the graphics capabilities, but I am assuming that might be the basic graphics offered by the motherboard?  When I install the drivers from the graphics card CD, that is when I start to see the green screen and low quality graphics where everything is not as crisp, etc.  Right now, I reverted back to a restore point but noticed Aero is not supported, so I will need to try reinstalling the graphics driver the proper way this time.  Any suggestions how I can go about doing this?  Are there only a few components I need?

 06/13/2013 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magic
Buffed

Posts: 91
Joined: 01/23/2011

64 bit grapics? What are you on?



-------------------------

q9300 @ 3.2ghz water cooled h50
asus p5qe
4x1gb kingston hyper x @ 1066
xfx 750w(62a on single 12v)
xfx 6950 (shader flash)
razer copperhead
2tb hdd (samsung)


120gb intel ssd


Antec 900


benq G2220HD @ 1080p

 06/13/2013 02:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

64 bit graphics? I don't see a Firepro S10000 graphics card. A screen shot may help.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84889 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.