Topic Title: power color 7990 not living up to its name
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/14/2013 11:32 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/14/2013 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jdub777
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2013

i've purchased a radeon 7990 and i have installed the drivers. i am getting very low frame rates for some reason. i was playing the first crysis on max settings and was lagging pretty bad dipping down into the 20's which makes no sense for this absolute beast of a card.

i know the card is running at pci e 2.0 (because that's what the board supports so i know i'd get a bottleneck there) and i've also tried a couple of different drivers.

Here are my specs let me know if you can help me out. thanks, Joel

u2ufo case

evga sr2 with dual intel xeon L5520 cpus (watercooled)

12gb ddr3 kingston hyper x ram

64gb ssd and 500gb storage

powercolor 7990

1050watt ultra x4 modular power supply

 

 06/15/2013 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: jdub777i know the card is running at pci e 2.0 (because that's what the board supports so i know i'd get a bottleneck there)

Nope, even if AGP was still in use, you couldn't use its full bandwidth. Your CPU is the bottleneck because Crysis uses only 1 CPU core (out of the 8 you have), so most of the CPU is idle and the other CPU is totally idle (not counting windows processes). What happens with other games (more recent ones)?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/15/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jdub777
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2013

thank you for the reply. i was figuring that could create a problem because i know the games do not make use of multiple cores. so i am only running one core??? i figured a few of these games would at least run dual core. i haven't tested any new games yet and i am very curious. i might just go out and buy crysis 3. i am going to purchase some new cpus in the future but i'm gonna upgrade my cooling loop because my p500 pump isn't cutting it in this large cooling loop. gonna get me a 1500l/h pump instead of 500. i think i might try to bump up the cpu speed a little bit and see if i can yield better results. also do you think if i switched slots since i'm using the third one i could possibly get a better bandwidth?
 06/15/2013 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jdub777
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2013

going to try out crysis three now. bumped up my cpu a little bit was told that crysis was a poorly coded game and this guy at tigerdirect told me he has an alienware with two 7970's and he only get's 40fps with all the latest patches. i had none installed, so its on to the next.
 06/15/2013 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jdub777
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2013

well i must say i have to take my words back in the topic because i was wrong. crysis 3 automatically set my setttings to the highest and i didn't have a dip below 40. 95% of the time i was at 60fps. i'm very satisfied with the graphics card, and i plan to install the newer drivers and see if i can get even better results. thanks for the help.

 06/15/2013 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1299
Joined: 07/13/2009

Crysis uses one thread for itself, and one for graphics calls.  It will pitch an absolute fit with only one core available, but gains nothing beyond two.  So high single-thread speed is essential.

If you want to see exactly how far back the CPU is holding you, set the game to a very low resolution, but with all the detail settings at max, then run the included GPU benchmark (benchmark_GPU.bat in the binaries directory).

Keep in mind that different aspect ratios have different amounts of rendered objects in the field of view, so the results are only valid for the same aspect ratio.

For example, I just did a couple benchmarks with my 3930K at 4.6GHz.  For the 800x600 run, the min/max/avg is 65/136/99.  That's the best my CPU can do at 4:3 aspect ratios.  At 1280x800, the numbers are 61/127/92, which shows that the increased FOV with a 16:10 aspect ratio puts more load on the CPU. 

When I raise the resolution to 2560x1600 and add 4xAA, my two 7970's at 1200/1450 each get 50/83/68.  Normally, with vsync on, this means I get a steady 60fps.

So it's possible to get good performance, but you need a fast CPU.

As for moving the card, according to the manual I just downloaded, slots 1, 3, and 5 are x16, so you should be fine there.

 

 06/16/2013 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jdub777
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2013

thanks for the info. that was a great read. yeah the guy at tigerdirect told me my cpu was gonna be a bottleneck because it wasn't overclocked and was only at 2.27ghz. the reason i bought these cpus is because i got a pair off ebay for 70bucks! i couldn't complain there! gonna get some nice six cores, when they go down in price because i hear they overclock better because they have a higher multi. my old setup was a asus rampage III extreme with an i7 920 and my water cooling loop was so small that i oc'd that cpu to hell and back. i had it at 4.4ghz completely stable no problems what so ever and my temps were great too. about the same they are now but overclocked a lot. when i get a new water pump with a better flow rate i'll be able to crank it up quite a bit but for now i'm satisfied. i know it could be better, but after i just dropped pretty much 2k to build this computer, i'm gonna make as much use of it as i can. thank you for the information, Joel
Statistics
84170 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.