Topic Title: Random shutdown following 4870 -> 7750 upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/15/2013 07:16 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/15/2013 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MockTurtle
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/15/2013

Hi - recently obtained a new VTX HD 7750 as a replacement for an old 4870. I'm experiencing random shutdowns about 5 minutes after startup. My first installation, so I would be grateful for some suggestions (and please bear with me). I think it's a driver issue.

Specs

Graphics Card
VTX Radeon HD7750 1GB DDR3
Not overclocked.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

From system information:

Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll

Driver Version 12.104.0.0

Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6304, 567.50 KB (581,120 bytes), 29/03/2013 01:09)

Operating System

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium

Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601

Issue Details

Random shutdown after ~ 5mins following Windows startup.


Motherboard or System Make & Model

System Model Gigabyte EX58-UD3R

Power Supply
Epsilon 80PLUS 600

Applications and Games
N/A

CPU Details

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz, 2664 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

Motherboard BIOS Version

BIOS Version/Date Award Software International, Inc. FB, 04/05/2009

SMBIOS Version 2.4

System Memory Type & Amount

6GB Corsair DDR3, 1TB HD

Additional Hardware

Cooling: Cooler Master V8, 3 fans (in win, not sure of exact models). However, checked temperatures using speedfan - they don't exceed 65oC.

Additional Details

Original drivers removed using DriverSweep and Catalyst Uninstall.

System is stable when run in safe mode and drivers disabled.

 

 06/16/2013 03:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

Different system with same issues. I had to NOT install HDMI audio drivers to get it working, but I need those drivers.

-------------------------
 06/16/2013 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

If drivers are faulty, they produce a BSOD, they never shut down the system. If the computer shuts down by itself, it's either a power issue, or something is not properly seated into its slot.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/16/2013 09:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

I would have to disagree. If I don't use the audio drivers, everything works fine. If I try to install/use the HDMI audio driver, I get the blank screen as described above. I actually had to disable the HD audio as a piece of sound hardware in the control panel.>>



-------------------------
 06/16/2013 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: CraigVMN

I would have to disagree. If I don't use the audio drivers, everything works fine. If I try to install/use the HDMI audio driver, I get the blank screen as described above. I actually had to disable the HD audio as a piece of sound hardware in the control panel.

Surely the audio controller cannot be broken... Using bigger font won't magically make you more right.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/16/2013 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1395
Joined: 07/13/2009

If you mean the power actually shuts off, then you have only two common causes to check out.  One is an overloaded or faulty power supply.  Since the 7750 uses only about a third the power of the 4870, that seems less likely.  The other would be overheating components.  The GPU would certainly not reach thermal shutdown at only 65C, nor would the CPU.

I can only suggest you check the temperatures more carefully - perhaps they're spiking too quickly to see using the method you're using now.

A short while ago, I had the same problem, and it turned out the water blocks on my GPU's weren't making proper contact (faulty X brackets, which I replaced with manufacturer-supplied screws).  It took only tiny fractions of a second for the temperatures to jump from 40C to 100C with slight desktop loads.

 06/17/2013 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

Thanks for the reply. I played two hours of Star Wars Battlefront 2 yesterday without a hiccup. It only becomes an issue when I turn on HDMI audio, then I get the blank screen. Sometimes I get my desktop background, but nothing else. Driver issue?

-------------------------
 06/17/2013 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: CraigVMN Thanks for the reply. I played two hours of Star Wars Battlefront 2 yesterday without a hiccup. It only becomes an issue when I turn on HDMI audio, then I get the blank screen. Sometimes I get my desktop background, but nothing else. Driver issue?

You did a very sweet job of highjacking the posters thread. Start your own and lets see if we can address the guy who asked for help.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/17/2013 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: MockTurtle Hi - recently obtained a new VTX HD 7750 as a replacement for an old 4870. I'm experiencing random shutdowns about 5 minutes after startup. My first installation, so I would be grateful for some suggestions (and please bear with me). I think it's a driver issue.

Specs

Graphics Card VTX Radeon HD7750 1GB DDR3 Not overclocked. AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

 

From system information:

 

Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll

 

Driver Version 12.104.0.0

 

Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6304, 567.50 KB (581,120 bytes), 29/03/2013 01:09)

 

Operating System

 

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium

 

Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601

 

Issue Details

 

Random shutdown after ~ 5mins following Windows startup.

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model

 

System Model Gigabyte EX58-UD3R

 

Power Supply Epsilon 80PLUS 600

 

Applications and Games N/A CPU Details

 

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz, 2664 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

 

Motherboard BIOS Version

 

BIOS Version/Date Award Software International, Inc. FB, 04/05/2009

 

SMBIOS Version 2.4

 

System Memory Type & Amount

 

6GB Corsair DDR3, 1TB HD

 

Additional Hardware

 

Cooling: Cooler Master V8, 3 fans (in win, not sure of exact models). However, checked temperatures using speedfan - they don't exceed 65oC. Additional Details

 

Original drivers removed using DriverSweep and Catalyst Uninstall.

 

System is stable when run in safe mode and drivers disabled.

 

 

 

This sounds like a power issue. Can you try the card in another computer? Or do you have another power supply you could use to see if the fault is with the Epsilon unit?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/17/2013 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

No, not hijacking. No one responded to the thread I started, so I hopped in here thinking that since at least two people were having the same issue, if one of them came up with a solution, it might benefit the other. 



-------------------------
 06/17/2013 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 234
Joined: 03/22/2008

Originally posted by: CraigVMN

No, not hijacking. No one responded to the thread I started, so I hopped in here thinking that since at least two people were having the same issue, if one of them came up with a solution, it might benefit the other. 

I see this place is still the same. You made a statement that you were having kind the same problem and tried to help the OP out. Isn't what this is a forum for to help people out.

The thing is he was not having any problems till he install the 7750 card. It sounds like there could be a fault in the sound part of the video card or the card itself.  Is it the same problem with the both of them, nobody knows till the OP gives it a try.

One other thing to look at, is that he is using a 3.0 card in a 2.0 board. Yes it should work & be backward compatible. But I have read that a lot of people are having problems with 3.0 cards in a 2.0 boards.



-------------------------

GIGABYTE-GA-GA-X79-UP4 i7-3930K 3.20GHz, G.Skill 32gb DDR3 2133 Quad, His HD 7850 4GB, In Win Glacier 900W, COOLER MASTER HAF 932 , 256gb SSD, Win7 Ult-64bit, 32" LED TV
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-8150 3.60GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, IN WIN BUC 101 Mid Tower, Win 7 Pro 64bit - Play around with computer

 06/17/2013 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

Originally posted by: dmdilks
Originally posted by: CraigVMN

 

No, not hijacking. No one responded to the thread I started, so I hopped in here thinking that since at least two people were having the same issue, if one of them came up with a solution, it might benefit the other. 

 

I see this place is still the same. You made a statement that you were having kind the same problem and tried to help the OP out. Isn't what this is a forum for to help people out.

 

The thing is he was not having any problems till he install the 7750 card. It sounds like there could be a fault in the sound part of the video card or the card itself.  Is it the same problem with the both of them, nobody knows till the OP gives it a try.

 

One other thing to look at, is that he is using a 3.0 card in a 2.0 board. Yes it should work & be backward compatible. But I have read that a lot of people are having problems with 3.0 cards in a 2.0 boards.

 

 

It is a 3.0 card in a 2.0 board/slot. But why would it work fine from the DVI port, but not the HDMI? Something to do with the audio perhaps, because even if I don't have anything plugged into the HDMI port but turn on the HDMI audio - boom - blank screen (hope the OP is getting some good useful information from all of this as well)



-------------------------
 06/17/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 234
Joined: 03/22/2008

Have you tried to disable the onboard sound from the bios.

Then try it see if you are not having a conflict with the two sound adapters.

Like I said before I have read a lot on 3.0 cards on a 2.0 board and having a lot of problems.



-------------------------

GIGABYTE-GA-GA-X79-UP4 i7-3930K 3.20GHz, G.Skill 32gb DDR3 2133 Quad, His HD 7850 4GB, In Win Glacier 900W, COOLER MASTER HAF 932 , 256gb SSD, Win7 Ult-64bit, 32" LED TV
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-8150 3.60GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, IN WIN BUC 101 Mid Tower, Win 7 Pro 64bit - Play around with computer

 06/23/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigVMN
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/16/2013

Well, I finally got a response back from Sapphire which they suggested I do a windows update to make sure I had all the correct pieces of the OS in place, and then install the latest beta drivers, 13.6 beta 2. The issue I had was with the audio, but also having two different monitors hooked up at the same time. AMD/ATI also have their own driver uninstall app which I highly recommend using before installing the new drivers. The process I took was:

1.       Uninstall AMD Catalyst through Windows control panel

2.       When prompted, uninstall all remaining components

3.       Run the AMD/ATI uninstall app

4.       Re-start Windows

5.       I made sure both displays I wanted to use were on

6.       Install the beta drivers

 

And that did the trick for me. I’m having a new issue, but I will address that in a new post. Hope the OP gets some good info from my experience.



-------------------------
Statistics
85323 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.