Topic Title: How to install 2 different radeon cards on came computer?
Topic Summary: Im trying to install 2 radeon gfx cards on same computer. (Radeon 5770 and 4650) But i am having problems doing it..
Created On: 06/20/2013 08:22 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/20/2013 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dannermax
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/20/2013

Hello all.

 

I want to attach 3 monitors to my computer, but discovered that i had to have an active displayport to hdmi converter if i wanted to do this with my 5770 card. So i then installed my old, Radeon 4650 card in my computer, and turned on the computer again. It booted up, and the drivers for the 4650 card were installing. A minute later, windows prompted me to reboot. After the reboot, the 5770 card was not working, and i was not able to run Catalyst Control Center. It told me that there were no working drivers for this card. (which have always been working).

The new drivers for the 4650 card is called:

ATI Radeon HD 4650 (Microsoft Corporation WDDM 1.1)

 

So my question is: How do i get these two graphic cards working at the same time? Do i install the catalyst software suite, which is compatible with the 4650 cards? Or is there a way to get my previously working CCC install, to run with both cards?

 

I am running windows 7 64bit.

 

I really hope someone can figure out this problem.

 

Thanks in advance.

Daniel

 06/20/2013 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1352
Joined: 07/13/2009

12.4 was the last normal Catalyst release that supports both cards.

After that, 4000-series cards were supported by legacy driver releases, and you can't install both normal and legacy at the same time.

 

 06/21/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dannermax
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/20/2013

Thanks for your help.. it did the trick! Just too bad that 12.4 dosen't support windows 8 because im thinking about upgrading soon..!

 06/21/2013 11:28 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12381
Joined: 04/17/2008

So just dump the HD 4650 and get an active converter? Or dump the HDMI monitor and get one capable of DisplayPort? Or just forget about Windows 8 since there is no reason to get it if you have Windows 7?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/01/2013 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dannermax
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/20/2013

Yes thanks black_zion. Think i better get the displayport adapter...! Thanks again!

Statistics
84954 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.