Topic Title: 3x Better graphics performance after "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" with HD7850
Topic Summary: very slow HD7850. 3x faster when display driver stops and recoverd.
Created On: 07/06/2013 03:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2013 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airtrain
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/06/2013

Hello,

I have an unusual problem with my AMD Radeon HD7850. I have big performance issues (3DMark06 score of about 6000). Every now and then, my "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered". After that, my graphics performance goes to the roof. Twice the frames in CoD Black Ops 2 and a 3DMark06 score of 27800.

I uninstalled the driver several times. I used various tools (Atiman Uninstaller, AMD Catalyst Un-install Utility, CCleaner), I updated my Board's BIOS (ASUS P8P67 LE). Nothing improved the framerates BEFORE the driver crash.

my CPU is an Intel i5-2500k OC'd to 4.2GHz and 8GB of DDR3-1600 RAM.

I'm using the latest 13.4 drivers, but I had the same results with the 13.6beta, but also previous versions were affected. I think I had the problem for a long time, but didn't notice it before, because I'm mostly playning FSX which has very bad performance in general.

I tried usinng AMD Overdrive (which probably voids the warranty), but only with minimal effect (as expected). 

Is there anything I can do, whithout replacing the graphics card or reinstalling Windows completely (something which I try to avoid at all costs)?

Any help would be greatly apreciated!

 07/06/2013 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

I assume it is getting enough power?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/07/2013 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airtrain
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/06/2013

I assume I have a enough power. I have a BeQuiet System Power 550W. Those are quite energy effiecient (80+ certificate - Bequiet says, they have an efficiency of up to 87%).

But if the power supply would be too weak, why does the graphics card run much faster, once the driver has crashed? If it's not getting enough power, it should be unstable for the whole time, shouldn't it?

After the crash, it runs nice and smooth for hours, whitout any sign of a problem.

 

I've used various calculators which came to the conclusion that a recommended PSU should provide between 426w and 470w (with assumed 20% capacitor aging). Except the BeQuiet Calculator that recommends at least a 600W PSU, but I think they just like to sell there more expensive line.

I'm not sure if this are the actual PSUs those calculators recommend, or if this is the wattage it recommends after taking the PSU efficiency into acount. If that is the case, it could be quite on the fringe with an assumed 87% efficiency (478 watts from my 550w PSU).

I put in the following specs:

intel i5-2500k @4.2 Ghz, AMD Radeon HD7850, 2x 4GB DDR3 RAM, 4 SATA HDDS (2x Green HDDs), 1x SSD, 4x 120mm fans, 1x Soundblaser Xfi, Mouse, Keyboard, + 2USB Joysticks, plus the occasional external USB harddrive.

So again, if this is too much (which is possible), why does it work without any problems after the graphic drivers have crashed? I'd really like to evaluate my options before I buy another 100-160 EUR PSU. How likely it is that it is really the PSU? I don't question you, but I'm just wondering because it bugs me for quite some time now.



Edited: 07/07/2013 at 03:07 PM by Airtrain
 07/07/2013 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1403
Joined: 07/13/2009

Best guess is that you have some kind of accelerated video player (such as Adobe Flash in any web browser, by default) open.  That will lock the clock speed on the card to the middle values, which would certainly cause poor performance in a 3D game.

The idea then is that when the driver restarts, the player gives up, leaving the card free to reach maximum clock speeds.

Trivial to check by using MSI Afterburner to monitor the clock speeds.

 

 07/07/2013 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airtrain
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/06/2013

I somehow doubt that. Altough I wish you are right. I can recreate the problem on a freshly booted system. After boot, the first thing I run is 3dmark06 which roughly gives between 7000 and 8000 points. At some point, sometimes during the benchmark test, the graphics driver crashes, and when I rerun 3dmark06, I get around 28000 points, so 3-4x more.

That is, before I open any browser window to play a flash video. After the crash, I can open and close as many browser windows, and I still get the faster performance. So if it is no accelerated player in the browser, it must be something that would come with the startup. I've checked msconfig and the only thing video related is the QTTask.exe and the iTunes helper. And of course the CCC. And Stardock Fences - but the vendor says it doesn't affect GPU performance at all.

Is there anything in the CCC settings that I could try?

I'll try to use MSI afterburner anyway, to check what results it yield.

 07/07/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airtrain
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/06/2013

Did an afterburner test. Even when my system is idle, the GPU usage is around 90%. After it crashes (usually when I run the 3dMark06 for a second time), the GPU usage goes down to 0% when the system is idle.

That's really odd. I have to find what causes the heavy GPU load. So it might not be the PSU after all.

 07/07/2013 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

Look in task manager and sort by CPU usage.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/08/2013 02:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airtrain
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/06/2013

Found it. Nothing looked particulary unusual. But somewhere else I read, that some people have Bitcoin miners installed, that consume the GPU. Some of them were using a fake svchost.exe, located in C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe32\.

This process used only 1-2% CPU in the task manager. I killed it, and GPU usage when instantly to 0%. I deleted the folder and now my Radeon HD7850 is as fast as it should. 

I wonder how many hours I've played with bad performance blaming it on the graphics card. But even, when the GPU was occupied, games gave still somewhat acceptable performance. But with this piece of junk gone, it'S like a whole new world!

I've recently switched von MS Security Essentials to Avast, but both didn't detect anything. 

Thanks for the help!!



Edited: 07/08/2013 at 02:35 AM by Airtrain
Statistics
85436 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.