Topic Title: Can't see anything when booting with Radeon HD 5450
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/11/2013 05:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/11/2013 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

I have a desktop PC with an MSI MS-7366 v2.2 motherboard and a 350 W PSU. The display started playing up recently but when I connected my laptop to the monitor the display looked ok. So I assumed the old, NVidia graphics card was broken.

I bought and fitted a Radeon HD 5450 card.  But when I switch the computer on all I see is an Intel symbol for a second or two and then nothing at all. From what I can hear the PC is booting normally but I can't see anything. I can't access the BIOS.  If I plug the old NVidia card back in I get the same result.  Any ideas please?

Would you expect the Radeon card to work with my motherboard and PCIe slot? Is the PSU sufficient (the box recommends 350W or more)? I don't want to buy a new PSU unless I'm sure that's the issue. Googling around it seems 350W should be more than adequate for this graphics card.

 07/11/2013 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

AMD recommends 400watt or higher. Your PS is too weak.

  • PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
  • 400 Watt or greater power supply recommended
  • Certified power supplies are recommended.  Refer to http://support.amd.com/us/certified/power-supplies/Pages/listing.aspx for a list of Certified products
  • Minimum 1GB of system memory
  • Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
  • DVD playback requires DVD drive
  • Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive


-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/11/2013 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

My guess would be a motherboard/graphics card incompatibility. I remember when I built my parent's computer, and ASUS M4A78-T and I tried to use a Sapphire HD 4650, the computer would boot as it would go through and even play the startup sound, but no video would show. Try updating the BIOS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/12/2013 09:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

Thanks. I can't think of anything else to do so I've ordered a new, 600W, PSU.  I'll update this thread with the results once it comes and I've installed it in a few days time.

That's a shame if the existing PSU is inadequate because other people on the web suggested the power demands of this model card were quite low (which was partly why I chose it in the first place).

 07/12/2013 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

I wanted to update the BIOS but I can't get into it remember.  I can't see anything at all!  I don't know if I could do it from a CD, provided the BIOS flash utility doesn't require any prompts to use it (because then I wouldn't be able to see them).

 07/16/2013 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ronald786
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/16/2013

the similar problem is with my AMD saffire hd 5750 , but it starts some times in the middle .I have tried changing the thermal paste and even cleaned the fan. I have seasonic x760 KM3+ power supply. So there should be no lack of power. 

 07/16/2013 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

Originally posted by: dramson I wanted to update the BIOS but I can't get into it remember.  I can't see anything at all!  I don't know if I could do it from a CD, provided the BIOS flash utility doesn't require any prompts to use it (because then I wouldn't be able to see them).

 

Never had to update the BIOS to get a video card to work before but it might work.

Try plugging into your on board graphics and see if you can get in to the BIOS that way



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 07/16/2013 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

Try plugging into your on board graphics and see if you can get in to the BIOS that way

Err, I don't know if I have on board graphics. I've never heard of that.  But thanks for the suggestion.  I'll look into it.

In the meantime I'm still waiting for the new PSU to arrive. The only other thought I had was to borrow a low-end graphics card from someone else temporariliy, just so I can update the BIOS.

 07/22/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

The new PSU arrived and I fitted it but now the computer is completely dead!!  Once I've resolved that I'll look again at the graphics card...

 07/22/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
druuzil
Grinding Levels

Posts: 128
Joined: 10/26/2009

Originally posted by: dramson The new PSU arrived and I fitted it but now the computer is completely dead!!  Once I've resolved that I'll look again at the graphics card...

Verify you hooked everything up correctly.  Make sure the power switch is properly connected to your motherboard (little pins usually on the bottom-right of the board for power, reset, hd led, etc).  Verify the 24 pin 12v connection to the motherboard, and that the 4 or 8 pin CPU connection (usually in the upper left of the board) is connected.



-------------------------

My Rig:

i7 3930k w/Corsiar H100i
Gigabyte X79-UP4 Motherboard 
Creative SB Recon3D 
2x 128GB Kingston SSDNow! SATA III in RAID 0 
2x Sapphire R9 290x in Crossfire
Antec TruPower 1000w PSU
LG Blu Ray Burner
1.5TB Storage
Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600
Cooler Master HAF 932

 07/23/2013 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

Thanks I'll take a look at that. Also, unfortunately, in order to remove the old PSU and fit the new one I had to remove the heatsink from the CPU.  I cleaned some material off the bottom of the heatsink and the top of the CPU, only realising later that that was probably some special thermal paste for increasing the efficiency of heat transfer from the CPU. I guess I'd better get some more paste or the CPU will overheat (and maybe that's why it's not turning on??)...

 07/24/2013 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 234
Joined: 03/22/2008

Originally posted by: Slayerx   

 

Never had to update the BIOS to get a video card to work before but it might work.

 

I had two Asus board one time that if you didn't update the bios you couldn't get some of the video cards to run. That was one of the bios update for those boards.

Plus some of the boards out there will not run the new Nvidia card 700 series unless you make changes in the bios to get them to run.



-------------------------

GIGABYTE-GA-GA-X79-UP4 i7-3930K 3.20GHz, G.Skill 32gb DDR3 2133 Quad, His HD 7850 4GB, In Win Glacier 900W, COOLER MASTER HAF 932 , 256gb SSD, Win7 Ult-64bit, 32" LED TV
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-8150 3.60GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, IN WIN BUC 101 Mid Tower, Win 7 Pro 64bit - Play around with computer

 08/02/2013 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

The computer's still dead. A computer repair guy tested the new PSU and confirms that it  works. I'll take the whole computer into him on Monday. He thinks from what I've told him that the MSI motherboard has probably failed. Who knows - maybe I never needed to get a new video card in the first place!! I'll update this thread once I know more.

 08/02/2013 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
efortin6
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/02/2013

Just out of curiosity, what connection are you using to plug your monitor into the video card? 

DVI, VGA, HDMI? 

Have you tried other connections? 

I'm having similar issues, seeing bios post but the screen turns black once windows loads, using an HDMI connection. 

 08/02/2013 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

DVI or VGA as the monitor was pre-HDMI. Anyway, it's academic now since the computer's completely dead.  My screen went black before seeing any references to BIOS or setup. All I saw was the Intel symbol and then nothing.

 08/09/2013 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dramson
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/11/2013

All fixed at last! A PC technician guy discovered that a PCI card (TV card) had shorted out and that was causing the PSU to cut power to protect the motherboard and other components. Recent thunderstorms might have caused the TV card to short out even though no aerial was attached. Once the PCI card was removed everything sprang back into life using the new PSU and Radeon graphics card.

Statistics
85424 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.