Topic Title: lines across screen/black screen on bootup
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/19/2013 03:07 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/19/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Etildard
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/19/2013

So I turned my computer off last night and went to bed, came back this afternoon and my computer had thick vertical lines of distorted pixels on the screen during bootup. After the windows start screen, everything went black yet i could see the monitor was still lit. I have since cleaned out my entire computer and pulled out my Radeon 6850, sprayed it down with cleaner, and re inserted it. Still no luck, and this problem is identical on both of my monitors.

I'm curretnly typing this from my laptop using one of my monitors so I know it isn't a problem on that end. I was wondering if this is a known problem/can i return my card for a new one? I built this computer in december of 2011.

 07/19/2013 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

 

To make it easier to assist you please supply the following:
            ( Please don't paste dxdiag )

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model and wattage
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


 
 
If you resolved your issue, please let everyone know what steps you took.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 07/30/2013 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HasaDigaEebowai
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/30/2013

Same problem for me and there are a lot of other posts about this. I read something about them recalling some gpus

 

Statistics
88915 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.